Skip to main content

History - Primary Sources

World War I

World War I Document Archive

The archive is international in focus and presents primary documents and links concerning World War I. Collection material includes conventions, treaties and official papers; Memorial & personal reminiscences; biographical dictionary; WWI Image archive; Special Topics and commentary articles

Other Conflicts

World War II

Women and World War II

World War II Resources

Primary source materials on all aspects of the war. A private site created and maintained by Larry W. Jewel. While additional material has been added, the help screens and other descriptive information has not been updated since 1997. Still, the site contains much useful information.

Online Oral Histories of the Manhattan Project

This website captures the stories of Manhattan Project veterans and their families.  The Manhattan Project was a great human collaboration. Participants included recent immigrants who fled anti-Semitism in Europe, young men and women straight from high school or college, and numerous Hispanics, Native Americans, and African-Americans. Some 125,000 people worked in secret locations in communities developed by the government for the sole purpose of the project. Most surprisingly, very few knew that they were working on an atomic bomb.

Vietnam

The Vietnam Archive

The archive, sponsored by Texas Tech, collects and preserves the documentary record of the Vietnam War, including records of individual veterans, veterans' organizations, scholars, and other organizations or individuals who share their experiences of the war era. The Vietnam Archive also administers two projects, the Oral History Project and the Virtual Vietnam Archive.