Skip to main content

History - Primary Sources

General

From Revolution to Reconstruction (Documents)

Primary sources and transcripts from 1400 to the present chronologically arranged.

Making of America - Cornell University Collection

A collaborative project of the University of Michigan and Cornell University, with funding from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, MOA is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The Cornell collection, 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles. Both collections are made up of image of the actual pages in the books and journals.

Making of America - University of Michigan Collection

A collaborative project of the University of Michigan and Cornell University, with funding from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, MOA is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The Michigan collection contains approximately 8,500 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.

Civil War and Reconstruction

Documenting the American South

Sponsored by the Academic Affairs Library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Documenting the American South is a collection of sources on Southern history, literature and culture covering the colonial period through early 20th century. The collection is organized into seven sub-collections or projects: First-Person Narratives of the American South; Library of Southern Literature, North American Slave Narrative; The Southern Homefront, 1861-1865; The Church in the Southern Black Community; The North Carolina Experience, Beginnings to 1940; North Carolinians and the Great War.

Making of America - Cornell University Collection

A collaborative project of the University of Michigan and Cornell University, with funding from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, MOA is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The Cornell collection, 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles. Both collections are made up of image of the actual pages in the books and journals.

Making of America - University of Michigan Collection

A collaborative project of the University of Michigan and Cornell University, with funding from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, MOA is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The Michigan collection contains approximately 8,500 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.

Indian Wars