Government Documents

U.S. Department of State Office of the Historian: Historical Documents

The series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. Produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian, the Website offers access to the series volumes covering the Kennedy and Johnson presidencies. Other accessible volumes are from the Nixon/Ford administration, Truman and Eisenhower.

Foreign Relations of the United States, Digital Facsimile

This digital facsimile of Foreign Relations of the United States is a project of the University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries in collaboration with the University of Illinois at Chicago Libraries. The facsimile consists of an incomplete run from 1863-1958 with missing volumes being added as they can be acquired and processed. The missing volumes are scattered throughtout the series. The primary gaps cover the Reconstruction era of 1865-1872, the late 1880's to early 1890's, 1925-1937, and most of the 1950's. Nonetheless, this ongoing profect provides access to important documents not available elsewhere on the Web.

GovInfo: Discover U.S. Government Information

The Discover U.S. Government Information portal is managed by the U.S. Government Printing Office and provides free electronic access to important information products produced by the Federal Government. The information provided on this site is the official published version and the information retrieved from GPO Access can be used without restriction, unless specifically noted. GPO Access allows searching and browsing full-text information from all three branches of the Federal Government including Congressional Bills, the Congressional Record, Public and Private Laws, Code of Federal Regulations, the Federal Register, and a number of Judicial resources including a link to the Supreme Court Web site. The site also gives access to documents produced by the Federal Depository Library Program.

National Security Archive

The National Security Archive, a non-profit institution housed at George Washington University's Gelman Library, is a library and archive of declassified U.S. documents obtained through the the Freedom of Information Act, as well as a public interest law firm defending and expanding public access to government information through the FOIA, and an indexer and publisher of the documents. The Archive's holdings include more than two million pages of accessioned material in over 200 separate collections. The site also offers National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Books providing online access to critical declassified records on issues including U.S. national security, foreign policy, diplomatic and military history, intelligence policy, and more. The Briefing books are categorized in nine subject areas: Europe; Latin America; Nuclear History; China and East Asia; U.S. Intelligence; Middle East and South Asia; The September 11th Sourcebooks; Humanitarian Interventions; and Government Secrecy.