Skip to main content

History - Primary Sources

Labor History

Archives of Labor and Urban Affairs (Walter P. Reuther Library at Wayne State Univ.)

Online stories and exhibits on the Flint sit-down strike, the United Farm Workers, the IWW, Walter Reuther, and more). Also guides to the archives collections. The Reuther is the largest labor archives in the U.S.

Eugene V. Debs Foundation

"The first priority of the Debs Foundation when founded in 1962 was to preserve the Debs Home and open it as a museum for the public. A second priority was to establish an awards program, this as another way to honor the memory of Debs and to assist in keeping alive the spirit of progressivism, humanitarianism and social criticism epitomized by Debs."

George Meany Memorial Archives

"The American Federation of Labor-Congress of Industrial Organizations (AFL-CIO) established the George Meany Memorial Archives in 1980 to honor the memory of George Meany, its first president, and to provide a program to preserve its historical records and make them available for research."

Kheel Center for Labor-Management Documentation & Archives

The Kheel Center for Labor-Management Documentation & Archives is the unit of Catherwood Library (Cornell) that collects, preserves, and makes accessible special collections pertaining to the history of the workplace and labor relations.

Labor Heritage Foundation

"LHF works to preserve and promote knowledge of the cultural heritage of the American worker through the arts, including music, poetry, written works, theatre, and artistic works; and conducts historical research through written and oral histories."