Skip to main content

History - Primary Sources

General Resources

European History Primary Sources

European History Primary Sources (EHPS) is a joint initiative of the Library and the Department of History and Civilization of the European University Institute in Florence, Italy. It is also part of the WWW Virtual Library History Central Catalogue that is hosted at the EUI. The purpose of EHPS is to provide an easily searchable index of scholarly digital repositories that contain primary sources for the history of Europe. As the number of digital archives on the internet continues to grow, finding and selecting digital repositories becomes increasingly difficult. EHPS strives to fill that gap by listing the most important collections of digital primary sources for the history of Europe, either as a whole or for single countries.

EuroDocs

Contains links connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. Also has video and  sound files, maps, photographs or other imagery, databases, and other documentation. Created by Richard Hacken, European Studies Bibliographer,
Harold B. Lee Library, Brigham Young University

History of Europe as a Supranational Region: Primary Documents

A sub-collection of EuroDocs.

German History in Documents and Images

A comprehensive collection of primary source materials documenting Germany's political, social, and cultural history from 1500 to the present.

National Security Archive - Europe - George Washington University

National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Books that provide online access to declassified records on issues including U.S. national security, foreign policy, diplomatic and military history and intelligence policy. The Europe section focuses on modern European history since World War II.

Wilson Center Digital Archive International History Declassified

The Digital Archive contains once-secret documents from governments all across the globe.

Hanover Historical Texts Collection

Created by the faculty and students of the Hanover College History Department the collection consists of primary texts, select important documents, and  transcriptions of manuscript material from the Hanover College archives.

Internet Sites with Primary Sources for History: Europe

A series of pages with links to Internet sites that include historical primary source. Sponsored by Bowling Green University