Skip to main content

History - Primary Sources

Individual Presidents

John F. Kennedy

John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum

"The Library's holdings include the papers of John F. Kennedy, Robert F. Kennedy, Joseph P. Kennedy, and Rose Kennedy, as well as close to 400 other collections: those of Kennedy family members, Kennedy administration officials and associates, and pertinent individuals, authors, and institutions. The John F. Kennedy Library also houses the Ernest Hemingway Collection and the John F. Kennedy and Robert F. Kennedy Oral History Collections."

President John F. Kennedy Assassination Records Collection

National Archives collection of more than 5 million pages of assassination-related records, photographs, motion pictures, sound recordings and artifacts (approximately 2,000 cubic feet of records). The collection is partially indexed by the JFK Database although most of these records are not available online.

ARC Gallery: President John F. Kennedy

Topical collections of digital documents.

 

Lyndon Baines Johnson

Lyndon Baines Johnson Presidential Library

Archival collection more than 45 million pages, an extensive audiovisual collection, and 2,000 oral history interviews.

 

Richard Nixon

Richard Nixon Presidential Library and Museum

               Almost 50,000 pages of archival documents, 2,636 hours of tapes containing conversations from February 1971 through             July 1973, video oral histories, dictabelt audio files, and photographs.

The Pentagon Papers: Secrets, Lies and Audiotapes. (The Nixon Tapes and the Supreme Court Tape)

National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Book Number 48. Audio and transcripts of telephone and meeting conversations detailing reactions of President Nixon and his aides to the release of the Pentagon Papers; arguments and briefs of the resulting Supreme Court case; the secret briefs and evidence submited to the Court; and the Supreme Court decision.

Nixon Grand Jury Records

Records of the Watergate Special Prosecution Force. Nixon was questioned over the period of two days, June 23 and June 24, 1975.

 

Gerald Ford

Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library and Museum

"Current holdings include 25 million pages of memos, letters, meeting notes, reports, and other historical documents. Also there are one-half million audiovisual items, including photographs, videotapes of news broadcasts, audiotapes of speeches and press briefings, film of public events, and televised campaign commercials. The 1974-77 presidential papers of Gerald Ford and his White House staff form the core collection. These are supplemented by the pre- and post-presidential papers of Gerald Ford, the papers of Betty Ford, collections of Federal records, and more."

 

Jimmy Carter

Jimmy Carter Library & Museum

"The White House materials of the President and Mrs. Carter and their staff, donated to the National Archives in 1981, form the core of the Library's resources."

Presidential Documents

American President: A Reference Resource

From the Miller Center at the University of Virginia, a nonpartisan institute "that seeks to expand understanding of the presidency, policy, and political history, providing critical insights for the nation’s governance challenges." Includes essays, speeches, bibliographies, links to presidential papers, and information on access to private and public papers.

American Presidency Project

The American Presidency Project consolidates, codes, and organizes into a single searchable database: The Messages and Papers of the Presidents: Washington - Taft (1789-1913); The Public Papers of the Presidents: Hoover to Bush (1929-1993); The Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents: Clinton - G.W. Bush (1993-2007). The archive contains over 72,000 searchable documents on the American presidency including Executive Orders; State of the Union addresses; Proclamations; State of the Union Messages; Press Conferences; Inaugural Addresses; Saturday Radio Addresses; Addresses to Congress; Addresses to Nation and more.

Founders Online

            Over 119,000 searchable documents, fully annotated, from the authoritative Founding Fathers Papers projects.