Skip to main content

History - Primary Sources

Primary Sources - Historical Newspapers

Newspapers

Chronicling America

Chronicling America is a Website providing access to information about historic United States newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages covering the period 1836-1922.  The site is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC).

Google News Archive

Hundreds of historical newspapers from around the world. Many are not complete runs of the paper.

Historical Newspapers online

Provides a list of historical U.S. newspapers that are available online at no cost. Newspapers available for free through Google News Historical Archives and Newspaperarchives.com are listed individually while newspapers available through Chronicling America and state digitization.

 

ICON: Newspaper digitization

ICON provides links to past, present, and prospective digitization projects of historic newspapers in the United States and the world.

 

Library of Congress Newspapers Online

A list of newspapers accessible through the Library of Congress Website. Includes links to other sites of digitized newspapers.

 

National and State Newspapers

Covers a broad swath of U.S. history — from the 18th to the 21st century. Select from a choice of state, city, town, county, and regional newspapers.

 

New York State Newspapers

List and links to historical newspapers published throughout the State of New York.

Pennsylvania Gazette

The Pennsylvania Gazette was published in Philadelphia from 1728 through 1800 and provides first hand reporting of colonial America, the American Revolution,and the early republic.  The Gazette was considered one of the leading papers in its time.National and State Newspapers.

 

Power Library: PA Photos and Documents

Thousands of digitized documents and photographs including newspapers can be explored from unique collections in libraries across Pennsylvania.