Skip to main content

History - Primary Sources

Reliable Websites for Primary Sources

 

The following Websites contain reliable digitized versions of primary source materials.  The sites have been reviewed and evaluated by librarians.
 
 
Produced by the Law Library of Congress, this Website contains the records of American legislative bodies from the Continental Congress in 1774 to the Congress of 1873.  Documents include full text and page images of the House Journal, the Senate Journal, the Senate Executive Journal, the Annals of Congress, the Journals of the Continental Congress, Elliot’s Debates, and Statutes at Large.
 

Archiving Early America

Includes early newspapers

 

American Memory

American Memory is a gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The site offers more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections on topics as wide-ranging as agriculture, art & architecture, business & economics, geography, performing arts, religion, sports, and technology.

 

Avalon Project at Yale Law School

The Avalon Project posts digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government from the pre-18th century to the present. Major collections include colonial charters, the Constitution, the Cold War, Treaties between the U.S. & Native Americans, and World War II.

 

Documenting the American South 

Sponsored by the Academic Affairs Library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Documenting the American South is a collection of sources on Southern history, literature and culture covering the colonial period through early 20th century. The collection includes 1266 books and manuscripts from library's southern holdings. The source of each sub-collection is clearly given in an "About the Collections" sidebar. The collection is organized into seven sub-collections or projects: First-Person Narratives of the American South; Library of Southern Literature, North American Slave Narrative; The Southern Homefront, 1861-1865; The Church in the Southern Black Community; The North Carolina Experience, Beginnings to 1940; North Carolinians and the Great War.  

Early Americas Digital Archive (EADA)

This is a collection of electronic texts written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820.

 

From Revolution to Reconstruction (Documents)

Primary sources and transcripts from 1400 to the present chronologically arranged.

 

Making of America - Cornell University Collection

A collaborative project of the University of Michigan and Cornell University, with funding from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, MOA is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The Cornell collection includes 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles. Both collections are made up of image of the actual pages in the books and journals.

 

Making of America - University of Michigan Collection

A collaborative project of the University of Michigan and Cornell University, with funding from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, MOA is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The Michigan collection contains approximately 8,500 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.

 

Our Documents initiative

This Website provides access to 100 milestone documents of American history.

 

Past Portal: Colonial Williamsburgs Portal to American History

This is an archive of page images of 18th century American newspapers and books, including the full run of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780).

 

University of Oklahoma College of Law. A Chronology of U.S. Historical Documents

Pre-colonial; 17th century; 18th century; 19th century; 20th century; includes inaugural addresses of U.S. presidents.