LGBTQIA+ (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender/Transsexual, Queer/Questioning, Intersex, Asexual/Allies, Nonbinary/Genderqueer +) Resources and Research

Currently available: limited audio recordings and photographs. A growing collection, as the LHA works to digitize its extensive collections.

The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. Based in Boston, Massachusetts at Northeastern University, the DTA is an international collaboration among more than sixty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, public libraries, and private collections. By digitally localizing a wide range of trans-related materials, the DTA expands access to trans history for academics and independent researchers alike in order to foster education and dialog concerning trans history.

Currently available: GLBT radio programs.

Check out the current online galleries, as well as online video and audio.

Profiles Gallery : Identifying leaders in religious movements for justice for LGBT persons.
Oral History: Hearing the voices and memories of
early leaders and activists.
Online Exhibitions: Presenting artifacts from LGBT religious history in thematic exhibitions.

Several thousand items from the 1960s-90s documenting the generations of activists in the United States that fought for civil rights for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people, and struggled against societal stigma to end the AIDS crisis. The collection consists of photographs documenting key activists, organizations, and protests, as well as posters, ephemera, and artwork.

Presents the worldwide history of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals and transgendered people. "It includes hundreds of original texts, discussions, and [soon] images, and addresses LGBT history in all periods, and in all regions of the world."
Librarian note: This resource has copyright dates from 1997-2007, as far as I can tell: Look at the bottom of each page to see when the note for when it was last updated.

The Kinsey Institute at Indiana University works towards advancing sexual health and knowledge worldwide. For over 60 years, the institute has been a trusted source for investigating and informing the world about critical issues in sex, gender and reproduction.

The Williams Institute is dedicated to conducting rigorous, independent research on sexual orientation and gender identity law and public policy. A national think tank at UCLA Law, the Williams Institute produces high-quality research with real-world relevance and disseminates it to judges, legislators, policymakers, media and the public.

The Yale Research Initiative on the History of Sexualities is dedicated to fostering research and theoretical reflection on the history of sexualities, especially as they intersect with other axes of social difference and inequality. It promotes inquiry into lesbian, gay, and transgender history and the role of sexuality in the history of the self, culture, nation, and empire. Based in the Department of History.

"The Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives aspires to be a significant resource and catalyst for those who strive for a future world where lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgendered people are accepted, valued, and celebrated."

"Often referred to as San Francisco's 'queer Smithsonian,' the GLBT Historical Society houses one of the world's largest collections of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender historical materials. The society's GLBT History Museum is the first full-scale, stand-alone museum of its kind in the United States."

"The Human Sexuality Collection seeks to preserve and make accessible primary sources that document historical shifts in the social construction of sexuality, with a focus on U.S. lesbian and gay history and the politics of pornography."

The Kinsey Institute at Indiana University works towards advancing sexual health and knowledge worldwide. For over 60 years, the institute has been a trusted source for investigating and informing the world about critical issues in sex, gender and reproduction.

"The LGBT Religious Archives Network (LGBT-RAN) is an innovative venture in preserving history and encouraging scholarly study of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) religious movements around the world." Includes online exhibitions, oral histories, and profiles of prominent people.

oldest active Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning (LGBTQ) organization in the United States and the largest repository of LGBTQ materials in the world. Founded in 1952, ONE Archives currently houses over two million archival items including periodicals, books, film, video and audio recordings, photographs, artworks, organizational records and personal papers. The collections at ONE Archives are a part of the University of Southern California Libraries. The independent foundation site is here.

OutHistory is a public history website that aims to generate, present, and promote high-quality LGBTQ historical research for LGBTQ and general audiences. We are especially interested in under-represented histories and historical research that contributes to positive social change. Most but not all of the current content focuses on the United States and Canada..

The Transgender Foundation of America’s (TFA) archive of transgender history and research library is the beating heart of the transgender center located in Houston, Texas. For far too long, transgenders lived without a sense of history as a people. The Houston Transgender Archive addresses this by actively searching out and acquiring transgender history. The TFA research library includes journals, studies, biographies and more, both current and obscure. The library includes both the most current information on transgender issues as well as delicate books that are hundreds of years old.

The Lesbian Herstory Archives is home to the world's largest collection of materials by and about lesbians and their communities.

Scroll down on page for "Manuscript Collections" and "Oral Histories."

The University of Victoria believes that the history of pioneering transgender activists and the work they have done on behalf of their communities must be preserved. UVic Archives is actively acquiring documents, rare publications, and memorabilia of persons and organizations that have worked for the betterment of transgendered people.

The Louise Lawrence Transgender Archive aims to increase the understanding of transgender people and encourage scholarship by making transgender historical materials publicly available.