LGBTQIA+ (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender/Transsexual, Queer/Questioning, Intersex, Asexual/Allies, Nonbinary/Genderqueer +) Resources and Research
Finding books (fiction, non-fiction, poetry, plays), movies, news, magazines, literary journals and more for LGBTQIA+ (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer/questioning, intersex, asexual/ally and more!) interests and research
Search the library catalog...
Use the terms below to search University Library and the Mercer County Library for titles.
Rider University students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from the Mercer County Library (MCL) system. MCL has a more extensive collection of new and popular fiction, poetry, and DVDs than we do, including ebooks and audiobooks. Learn how to get a card.
The links below of sample subject headings search the University Library discovery catalog. You can search these term in other library catalogs, such as MCL, as well.
-
Bisexuality
-
Bisexuality--Literary collections.
-
Gay and lesbian studies
-
Gay men
-
Gay men in literature
-
Gay men--Drama
-
Gay men--Fiction
-
Gay men--Literary collections
-
Gay men--Poetry
-
Gay teenagers
-
Gay youth--Fiction
-
Gays in literature
-
Gays--Fiction.
-
Gays--Literary collections.
-
Homosexuality Searches term as subject, limited to format Book and Video, Sorted by Date (Newest first)
-
Intersexuality
-
Transgender people
-
Transsexuals
Finding LGBTQIA+ Plays & Productions
-
Plays and musicals available through the University Library discovery catalogBooks and ebooks.
Searches:
Keyword (kw:) gay* OR lesbian* OR bisexual* OR queer OR homosexual* OR transgender* OR intersex* OR transsexual* OR gendernonconforming OR asexual* OR aromantic OR LGBTQ* OR nonbinary OR non-binary
AND
Subject (su:) drama OR musical*
AND
AND (Notes nt:(play OR theater OR theater) OR title (ti:)(play* OR musical))
Yes, it is tricky to separate out plays themselves from criticism about plays at this moment :( -
LGBTQ plays in the database New Play ExchangeSearches scripts that are tagged "LGBTQ."
You can also filter by Playwright Demographics in Search => Play OR Search=>Author. These include "Gender Identity" and "Sexual Identity."
-
Drama Online This link opens in a new windowExplore plays by theme, such as sexuality. Explore by => Theme
-
BIPOC Playwrights ProjectA directory of playwrights curated by UC Berkeley. Choose the LGBTQIA+ tab for a list of identifying BIPOC playwrights.
-
Wikipedia Category: LGBT dramatists and playwrightsLinks to Wikipedia lists by identity.
-
Notable LGBTQ PlaywrightsListed by country.
-
Digital Theatre+ (Access Available until 1/1/2026) This link opens in a new windowView productions of plays and musicals. Search LGBTQ.
Looking for something good to read?
-
American Library Association (ALA) Rainbow Round Table ResourcesFind books lists, reviews, and links to other resources!
The following sites and publications offer book lists and reviews.
(If University Library doesn't own the title, we will get it for you from another library. Or, you can request that we purchase the title.)
-
Gay & Lesbian Review Worldwide: A Bimonthly Journal of History, Culture, and PoliticsWe have full access to this magazine here, through our subscription databases.
-
GLBT ReviewsBook and media reviews from the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table of the American Library Association.
-
GLBTQ LiteratureFrom "glbtq: the world's largest encyclopedia of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and queer culture."
-
LGBTQ ReadsLGBTQ Reads is a site dedicated to promoting curated LGBTQIAP+ literature for all ages, run by author and blogger Dahlia Adler.
Also check out their Tumblr: lgbtqreads.tumblr.com -
Rainbow Books: GLBTQ Books for Children and TeensAlso by the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table of the American Library Association.
-
Gay's the Word (UK Bookshop)Gay's The Word is the UK's pioneering first (and is today the last surviving) lesbian and gay bookshop. Established in 1979 and located in the historic Bloomsbury district of London, we stock an enormous range of books; from the profound to the frivolous, from the liberating to the indulgent.
Featured Books
-
The Cambridge History of Gay and Lesbian Literature
by
The Cambridge History of Gay and Lesbian Literature presents a global history of the field and is an unprecedented summation of critical knowledge on gay and lesbian literature that also addresses the impact of gay and lesbian literature on cognate fields such as comparative literature and postcolonial studies. Covering subjects from Sappho and the Greeks to queer modernism, diasporic literatures, and responses to the AIDS crisis, this volume is grounded in current scholarship. It presents new critical approaches to gay and lesbian literature that will serve the needs of students and specialists alike. Written by leading scholars in the field, The Cambridge History of Gay and Lesbian Literature will not only engage readers in contemporary debates but also serve as a definitive reference for gay and lesbian literature for years to come.
Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 9781139547376Publication Date: 2014-12-18 -
Representing the Rainbow in Young Adult Literature
by
Discussions of gender and sexuality have become part of mainstream conversations and are being reflected in the work of more and more writers of fiction, particularly in literature aimed at young adult audiences. But young readers, regardless of their sexual orientation, don't always know what books offer well-rounded portrayals of queer characters and situations. Fortunately, finding positive role models in fiction that features LGBTQ+ themes has become less problematic, though not without its challenges. In Representing the Rainbow in Young Adult Literature: LGBTQ+ Content since 1969, Christine Jenkins and Michael Cart provide an overview of the literary landscape. An expanded version of The Heart Has Its Reasons, this volume charts the evolution of YA literature that features characters and themes which resonate not only with LGBTQ+ readers but with their allies as well. In this resource, Jenkins and Cart identify titles that are notable either for their excellence--accurate, thoughtful, and tactful depictions--or deficiencies--books that are wrongheaded, stereotypical, or outdated. Each chapter has been significantly updated, and this edition also includes new chapters on bisexual, transgender, and intersex issues and characters, as well as chapters on comics, graphic novels, and works of nonfiction. This book also features an annotated bibliography and a number of author-title lists of books discussed in the text that will aid teachers, librarians, parents, and teen readers. Encompassing a wider array of sexual identities, Representing the Rainbow in Young Adult Literature is an invaluable resource for young people eager to read about books relevant to them and their lives.
Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 9781442278066Publication Date: 2018-03-20 -
Black like us : a century of lesbian, gay, and bisexual African American fiction
Call Number: PS648.H57 B58 2002ISBN: 9781573441087 -
Chloe plus Olivia : an anthology of lesbian literature from the seventeenth century to the present
by
Call Number: PS509.L47 C47 1994ISBN: 0670846384 -
The romantic friendship reader : love stories between men in Victorian America
by
Call Number: PS648.H57 R66 2003ISBN: 1555535909
