LGBTQIA+ (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender/Transsexual, Queer/Questioning, Intersex, Asexual/Allies, Nonbinary/Genderqueer +) Resources and Research
Finding books (fiction, non-fiction, poetry, plays), movies, news, magazines, literary journals and more for LGBTQIA+ (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer/questioning, intersex, asexual/ally and more!) interests and research
- Welcome!
- Rider Campus Resources
- Definitions/Terminology
- LGBTQIA+ Books And Authors
- LGBTQIA+ Film: Streaming and DVDs at Rider
- Library Catalogs to Search
- News, Magazines, and General Websites/Blogs
- Organizations
- Museums/Archives/Historical Societies
- Statistics & Demographics
- Special Topics/Interests
- Lesbian
- Gay
- Bisexual
- Trans*
- Non-binary and Genderqueer
- Queer
- Intersex
- Asexual & Aromantic
- Allies
- Research: Books and Articles
- Make a Purchase Request
- Other Helpful Guides
Some Key terms
- Gay and lesbian studies
Combine the terms below with other topics in library databases or the library catalog.
- Gay
- Gay men
- Gays
- Gender identity
- Heteronormativity
- Lesbian
- Lesbian*Searches for lesbian, lesbians, lesbianism.
- Lesbianism
- Lesbians
- Queer
- Questioning
- Sexual minoritiesThis term is used by Library of Congress Subject Headings for LGBTQ and its variations.
- Sexual orientation
- Transgender
- TransgenderismHere are entered works on the various manifestations of cross-gender orientation, such as transvestism, transsexualism, male or female impersonation, intersexuality, etc., treated collectively.
- Transgender peopleSubtopics include identity, history, and family relationships.
- Transsexuals
- List of LGBTQI Subject HeadingsA great list compiled by a Yale librarian. Use it to brainstorm and to help with your searching!
Library Database: GenderWatch
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowGender studies - scholarly journal articles, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports
This is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.
Library Databases: Academic Search Premier and Omnifile Full Text Mega
These are interdisciplinary databases, so either or both are a good place to start! Search them separately or simulataneously.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowThis is a large, interdisciplinary resource; there are many articles available full text. Access provided by the New Jersey State Library.Interdisciplinary resource.
Library Database: America: History and Life
Covers history and culture of the US and Canada from 1450 to the present.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowUnited States and Canadian history, 1450 to the present.
Project Muse
Search Project MUSE®
- Project MUSE is "a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community," covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
- Project MUSE includes the full content of each journal and ebooks from university presses and other scholarly publishers.
As of January 2012, Project Muse also indexes ebooks, but Rider University Libraries may not have access to these titles as ebooks.
- Check the library catalog to see if we own these books in print.
Library Database: JSTOR
- JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new windowJSTOR contains the full text of articles published in approximately 430 journals from the fields of arts and sciences, and business. Its archive spans from the first volume of the journal to within the past three to five years of the journal.
Search the Library Catalog
Library of Congress Subject Headings
- List of LGBTQI Subject HeadingsA great list compiled by a Yale librarian. Use it to brainstorm and to help with your searching!
Subject databases
Depending on your topic, these discipline-specific databases may be helpful, too!
- Historical Abstracts (Access Ends on 9/1/2024) This link opens in a new windowWorld history from 1450 to the present (excluding United States and Canada).
- PsycInfo (APA PsycInfo) This link opens in a new windowThe PsycInfo® database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages.Subject: Psychology
- Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new windowSocial Sciences Full Text™ provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983—nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.
- Last Updated: Jul 17, 2024 3:12 PM
- URL: https://guides.rider.edu/lgbtqia
- Print Page
Tags: agender, aromantic, asexuality, bisexuality, books, drama, enby, fiction, gay, gay men, gender identity, gender non-conforming, gender-neutral bathrooms, genderqueer, glbt, hate crimes, homosexuality, intersex, lesbian, lesbianism, lesbians, lgbt, lgbtq, lgbtqi, movies, nb, non-binary, plays, pride, pronouns, queer, questioning, reading, sexual orientation, transgender, violence