Skip to main content

History - Primary Sources

Immigration

 

Eugenic Laws Restricting Immigration

Virtual exhibit from the Image Archive on the American Eugenics Movement

 Historical Census Statistics on the Foreign-Born Population of the United States: 1850 to 1990

22 Detailed tables.

A Description of the Immigrant Population: An Update

Nabeel Alsalam. Washington, D.C., Congressional Budget Office, 2011.

US Immigration: Migration Facts, Stats, and Maps

Part of the Migration Policy Institute (MPI) Data Hub.

Office of Immigration Statistics Data and Statistics

Includes: the Yearbook of Immigration Statistics; Profiles on Legal Permanent Residents. Data (2003- ): Profiles on Naturalized Citizens. Data (2003- ); and U.S. migration data maps.

Black History

Black History

African American Women's History

Documenting the American South

Sponsored by the Academic Affairs Library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Documenting the American South is a collection of sources on Southern history, literature and culture covering the colonial period through early 20th century. The collection includes 1266 books and manuscripts from library's southern holdings. The source of each sub-collection is clearly given in an "About the Collections" sidebar. The collection is organized into seven sub-collections or projects: First-Person Narratives of the American South; Library of Southern Literature, North American Slave Narrative; The Southern Homefront, 1861-1865; The Church in the Southern Black Community; The North Carolina Experience, Beginnings to 1940; North Carolinians and the Great War.