The Moore Library faculty is strongly committed to supporting the teaching-learning process through professional contributions to the Library, value to the University, and scholarly activity. Because of the evolving nature of librarianship, the Moore Library faculty values professional development within each criterion. Additionally, the Department seeks a balance and appreciates a diversity of emphasis in shaping individual careers in these broad areas of commitment.
The candidate shall prepare a curriculum vitae and a narrative statement explaining and assessing the documented record of credentials, qualifications, and performance in the areas listed below. The Moore Library faculty, acting as a department, shall review this material; they shall consider the following criteria as guidelines in their evaluation and apply them to the candidate:
Contributions to the Library in Support of the Teaching-Learning Process :
Library faculty members provide access to all types of information and by definition are involved in a very broad scope of work, including among other activities, collection development, technical work (enabling access to electronic resources), bibliographic control (description and organization of information resources), research instruction, and work with other faculty to support the curriculum. Librarianship, a multifaceted discipline, has a primary role in the creation and dissemination of knowledge for use in education, scholarship, and service. Evidence in this area must include:
In addition, evidence in this area may include:
Value to the Library, University, and Profession :
Library faculty value contributions the candidate makes through service to the Library, University, and Profession. These contributions promote the mission of the Libraries and the University and help integrate the Library and the Moore Library faculty with the programs and activities of the University. The Moore Library department supports the individual interests and abilities of the candidate in service to the Library, the University, and the Profession. Community service that is integral to a faculty member’s professional expertise may be considered applicable to promotion and tenure. Indicators of the quality of service beyond the Moore Library Department and external to the University could include election or appointment to leadership roles, or other evidence that the candidate’s services are sought after, and awards or other forms of recognition of service. The following are representative examples of documentation or evidence in this area:
Scholarly Activities :
Scholarly activity in librarianship brings intellectual or practical needs and problems into perspective and builds an increased understanding of them. Scholarly activity in librarianship, therefore, is broader and more inclusive than a narrow definition of research. The critical ingredients are: identification of an information need or problem, attention to the context of that need, and reliance on a clear and thorough effort to examine and perhaps address that need. The Library faculty may consider the comprehensiveness of the work, its originality, or the competitive nature of the publishing house or journal, for example, in evaluating the scholarly activity of the candidate. If scholarly activity is presented that is under review or not yet submitted, the Moore Library faculty will undertake an in-depth evaluation using standards of peer review. Quality of scholarship is not necessarily measured in numbers, but it is useful in demonstrating the candidate’s growth as a scholar, by way of ongoing dissemination of research findings and continuing commitment to scholarship. Probationary faculty should begin publishing and presenting early in order to establish an ongoing program of scholarship. A single flurry of scholarly activity is not persuasive evidence of a continuing commitment to scholarship. The following are representative examples of documentation or evidence, which support contributions to librarianship or an allied field or academic discipline:
Additional Criteria for Promotion and/or Tenure by Rank
Assistant Professor II – Librarian
Associate Professor – Librarian
Professor – Librarian
Initially approved by the Moore Library faculty on May 24, 1993, and modified January 19, 1999, and December 11, 2001. Revised and approved by the Moore Library faculty on January 9, 2012.
Procedures created/updated by Melissa Hofmann
Moore and Talbott Use of 948 Field
Who to contact for questions concerning Moore Library cataloging procedures and this cataloging wiki: firstname.lastname@example.org
Right click on the link and open it in a new tab: Enhanced Course Roster Fall 2019. In the bottom red line, you will be able to search by instructor or by course number to find the correct course information. If you need to see Summer I or II, click on "Other Terms" at the top of the page.
Before you search, click on "Options" at the top of the page and open the drop-down menu under Show/Hide Columns. Scroll down and check "Enrolled" and you will be able to see the number of students in the class. If you also uncheck CRN, Credits, and Max Credits, it will make the copying easier.
1. Copy and paste the information from the Subject column through the College in an email to Diane and Pat. The email should have a subject line: Professor Name Instruction Request, e.g. Smith Instruction Request
2. State the date requested.
3. Copy and paste the line below into the email if the circumstances apply (or just type in the info):
Class time requested if different from entire class period:__________________
INSTRUCTION LIBRARIANS WHO ADD ENTRIES TO THE CALENDAR: Please use the key to our stats instead of copying through to College. When Pat and I add the emailed requests to the calendar, we'll be deleting the college part and adding our own.
This is what an entry should look like: CBA-U ENT 210 G1 Sports Entrepreneurship Cook (Ronald G.) MW 01:10PM-02:40PM 29
Thank you very much for your help!
When a new item is accessioned and is being added to the boxed files into an existing folder, that item needs to be added to both the web (html) file and to the list of contents printout in the front of each box.
If a new folder is added to a box, that folder needs to be placed in the box in alpha order with the contents of the folder in sequential date order within the folder, the newest item in the front of the folder. In this case the folders will need to be renumbered 1.) on the folders, 2.) on the list of contents printout and 3.) in the web file.
All items and folders to be added to boxes will be placed on shelf 1/E/5 with a note indicating to which box and to which folder they should be added. Once the update has been completed, that information should be written on the same note and initialed by the person who made the update and then the items or folder can be filed.
How to create notes for titles shelved in a specific, named collection within Special Collections (such as Riderana, the Louis A. Leslie Collection, the Alan C. Lloyd Collection, the Rare Books Collection, the Faculty Publication Collection, the Kendrick C. Hill Collection)
This procedure was implemented on 1/13/04. Eventually, all books in Special Collections (formerly Riderana) in designated archival collections will include two subfield notes in the holdings record; subfield c about the specific collection with which they are shelved; and subfield k indicating the location prefix code that will appear above the call number.. Many records will also include a 561 or 590 note in the bib record.
Notes about the origin of a title that is to be kept in Special Collections as part of one of the library’s archival collections should go in the 561 field in the bib record (subfield a). EXCEPTION: Continue to put the note “Rider faculty publication” in 590. See the separate instructions for these notes (established 7/10/97) and the notes below for editing the MFHD.
Examples of notes in the bib records:
- 561 +a Library’s copy is a gift of Louis A. Leslie.
- 561 +a Library’s copies are a gift of Alan C. Lloyd.
- 561 +a Library’s copy is a gift of Jane Doe and is a part of the Kendrick C. Hill Collection.
- 561 +a Library’s copy is part of the Kendrick C. Hill Collection.
- 590 +a Rider faculty publication.
- 561 +a Library’s copy is part of its Rare Books Collection.
In cases where there are multiple copies in different locations, add the phrase “in Special Collections” to indicate that the note applies only to the copy in Special Collections.
- 561 +a Library’s copy in Special Collections is part of its Rare Book Collection.
In addition to the note in the 561, the cataloger will create two notes in the holdings record (MFHD): a public note in the 852 subfield c and a prefix note in the 852 subfield k.
The public note in the subfield c will indicate the shelving location/specific collection within Special Collections. The system will generate an OPAC display.
- Shelving Location: Lloyd Collection
The prefix note in the subfield k will indicate the shelving location/specific collection. Be sure to place the subfield k prefix note before the subfield h call number so that the prefix will appear before the call number in an OPAC display.
- In MFHD: 852 0 +b RIDH +k Faculty +h FR2341 +I .N653
In the OPAC this will display as
- Call Number: Faculty FR2341.N653
Use the following abbreviations (first letter in Uppercase, following letters in lowercase) for the subfield k prefixes:
Leslie (subfield k will not be used for original collection, only additions to the collection) Faculty
All Special Collections holdings records also include a subfield z note: Ask librarian for access.
Remember that the +b RIDH in the MFHD generates a general location display for the OPAC: Location: Special Collections.
If multiple copies are in Special Collections, create separate MFHD for each copy.
Examples of notes in the MFHDs:
- 852 0 +b RIDH +k Riderana +h HF291 +i .B237 1901 +c Leslie Collection +z Ask librarian for access.
- 852 0 +b RIDH +k Hill+h DA2001 +i .P22 1878 +c Hill Collection +z Ask librarian for access.
- 852 0 +b RIDH +k Lloyd+h HF1191 +i .L23 1921 +c Lloyd Collection +z Ask librarian for access.
- 852 0 +b RIDH +k Faculty +h BF201 +i .S467 1999 +c Rider Faculty Publications +z Ask librarian for access.
- 852 0 +b RIDH +k Rare +h DA221 +i. F24 1830 +c Rare Books Collection +z Ask librarian for access.
The following examples show how to handle two copies going to separate collections in Special Collections:
- 852 0 +b RIDH +k Hill+h HA192 +i .D35 1930 +c Hill Collection. +z Ask librarian for access.
- 852 0 +b RIDH +k Riderana+h HA192 +i .D35 1930 +c Leslie Collection. +z Ask librarian for access.
Reminder: If there are multiple copies attached to the same holdings record (i.e. in the same location and collection), do not forget to edit the MFHD 008 (change to composite record, 002 copies) and designate copy numbers in the item records.
FILING RULES FOR RIDERANA [i]
1. When creating filing sequences for file drawers in Riderana, the following priorities will take precedence:
In other words, in the student activities drawers, there are general subjects in alphabetical order, and within that order, alphabetically by subtitle, but then in individual categories, in chronological order.
Cultural and Special Events
Academic Organizations (non-Business)
Business Education Organizations
Non-Academic Student Organizations
And within these categories, first an alphabetical order of groups, then a chronological order within the file.
2. When filing materials in archival boxes, file in reverse chronological order, that is, with the oldest on the bottom. So when a new Communique comes, it is placed on the top of the pile.
3. Any additional files should be noted in the two black binders – make note in both of them.
4. Any additional files on the computer should be listed on the notepad in the bottom basket to the left of the computer.