Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Staff web

Library Internal Web

Talbott General

TALBOTT LIBRARY

 

PROMOTION AND TENURE CRITERIA

 

5 February 1999


College and university librarians share the professional concerns of faculty members. Academic freedom...is indispensable to librarians because they are trustees of knowledge with the responsibility of insuring the availability of information and ideas, no matter how controversial, so that teachers may freely teach and students may freely learn... Moreover, as members of the academic community, librarians should have latitude in the exercise of their professional judgment within the library, a share in shaping policy within the institution, and adequate opportunities for professional development and appropriate reward. Faculty status entails for librarians the same rights and responsibilities as for other members of the faculty. (From "The Joint Statement on Faculty status of College and University Librarians," American Association of University Professors and the Association of College and Research Libraries, AAUP Policy Documents & Reports, 1990 edition)

The Library faculty is strongly committed to librarian effectiveness*, especially in support of the teaching-learning process, service of value to the University, and musical or scholarly activity. The Department seeks a balance and appreciates a diversity of emphasis in shaping individual careers in these broad areas of commitment

  • Librarian effectiveness includes the ability to perform at a high level in areas which contribute to the educational and research mission of the University, such as, but not limited to, bibliographic organization and control, collection development, or reference service. It may also include training or further education in areas relevant to the librarian's responsibilities.

The candidate shall prepare a resume and a narrative statement explaining and assessing the documented record of credentials, qualifications, and performance in the areas listed below. The Library faculty, acting as a department, shall review this material; they shall consider the following criteria as guidelines in their evaluation and apply them to the candidate. All examples are suggestive rather than prescriptive.

 

LIBRARIAN EFFECTIVENESS

Librarianship at Talbott Library supports instruction, research, and performance in music. Librarians may effectively support this mission by acquiring appropriate materials in a variety of formats, organizing these materials in such a way as to facilitate access and use, and aiding Patrons in locating, understanding, and using these materials (reference and bibliographic instruction). Librarianship also involves liaison work with faculty, effective outreach to the user community, and other activities that contribute to the library's mission.

Evidence in this area must include:

Knowledge of, and skill in using resources, materials, and services in candidate's areas of responsibility In addition, evidence in this area may include: Italic text

(This list and those in the following sections are not intended to be comprehensive but, rather to provide an idea of appropriate activities. No qualitative ranking of activities is to be inferred by the order in which they are listed.)

  • Resourcefulness in dealing with the candidate's areas of responsibility
  • Ability to cooperatively initiate ideas, develop and implement new policies, programs or services within the Library's mission
  • Effectiveness in working with students, teaching faculty, and the administration
  • Effectiveness as a trainer of student assistants
  • Ability to work cooperatively with members of the Library staff
  • Effective participation in formal and informal Library instruction
  • Specific contributions to Library-Faculty relationships and increasing student and faculty use of Library resources
  • Performance of innovative and problem-solving activities which directly relate to the mission of the unit, department, or library
  • Innovation in developing instructional materials
  • Developing expert skills and sharing the knowledge with colleagues and others
  • Creating innovative and effective workflows
  • Planning for new or improved facilities
  • Winning grants and contracts aimed at improving the Libraries' activities or services

 

SERVICE TO THE UNIVERSITY AND LIBRARY

 

Library faculty value contributions the candidate makes through service to the Library and University. These contributions promote the mission of the Library and University and help integrate the Library faculty with the programs and activities of the University. The department supports the individual interests and abilities of the candidate in service to the Library and the University.

Evidence in this area may include:

  • Service on Library committees outside specific designated areas of responsibility
  • Service on University or College committees, task forces, advisory groups, and ad hoc groups
  • Participation in University or College performances
  • Special research for program notes
  • Other College service (e.g. fund raising, student mentoring/counseling, participation in student recruitment and/or retention, AAUP service)
  • Support of student activities (e.g., attendance at student recitals, which fosters community and increases accessibility)
  • Library or University related community service
  • Teaching seminars, courses, or workshops for the University apart from one's primary job responsibilities)

 

SCHOLARLY/MUSICAL ACTIVITIES

 

When research and publications are spoken of, certain alternate forms of publication are to be considered appropriate intellectual activity for Library Faculty. Some examples of alternate forms of publication might include annotated bibliographies, an extensive computer program designed to facilitate library operations, or an analysis of procedures within a department to facilitate improvements in service. Scholarship may also include traditional research in music history or theory (biographies, critical editions of scores, critical analyses, bibliographies, contributions to standard reference works) and may also include contributions to electronic sources, databases, and e-journals.

Because of Westminster's mission as a performance-oriented college, musical performance shall be considered as equivalent to scholarly activity. A music librarian's performance activities support her work as a librarian and enrich her effectiveness as a resource to the College community through reference, collection development, outreach, recruiting, and involvement in student life.

Because of dynamic nature of librarianship, the profession requires coordination and consensus for implementation of standards, guidelines, and programs on the national and regional level. Consequently, the Library faculty places a high value on participation in professional development and in library organizations. The level of intellectual, analytical, and creative work which this entails may be considered equivalent to coordinated research projects undertaken by faculty members in other disciplines.

Evidence in this area may include the following contributions to librarianship or an allied field:

  • Formal publications (e.g. books, musical editions, annotated bibliographies, articles, contributions to reference works, chapters in books, papers in proceedings, reviews, software, editing of journals, editorial board membership, participation in a recorded performance)(Publications which are produced as part of one's job responsibilities, e.g., policy manuals, are evaluated in the section on librarian effectiveness.)
  • Contributions to databases or other electronic resources
  • Serving as the moderator of an electronic bulletin board or Web site manager for an external professional organization
  • Participation in the development of plans, studies, proposals, or new resources for the general library community
  • Service as a church or temple musician
  • Performances, such as singing, playing an instrument, conducting, etc.
  • Media programs or creative work presented at a professional meeting
  • Writing, or participation in the writing of successful major grant proposals in support of scholarly activity or library services
  • Service on a task force of experts, review committee, or similar body
  • Participation in national, regional, state, and local professional associations as demonstrated by such activities as holding office, presentation of papers, service on committees or panels, attendance at conferences and conventions, and membership
  • Attendance at professional seminars and workshops, enrollment in and completion of continuing

education and formal courses, and the completion of additional degrees

  • Professional recognition as evidenced by awards, grants, special honors, and consultant ships
  • Teaching seminars, courses, or workshops for the University (apart from one's primary job responsibilities)

 

ADDITIONAL CRITERIA FOR PROMOTION AND/OR TENURE BY RANK
    Assistant Professor II - Librarian

Evidence of growth in skills and responsibilities which demonstrates potential for continued growth

Evidence of contributions of value to the University and Library which indicates a commitment to service

Evidence of scholarly/musical activity which shows promise of fulfilling the department's criteria for tenure

Evidence of professional development which demonstrates a pattern of commitment

 

    Associate Professor- Librarian

Demonstrated continual growth in skills and responsibilities, leadership in the candidate's areas of responsibility, and effective support of the teaching-learning process

Ability to contribute to the design and execution of effective library programs

Is considered an essential member of the department

Evidence of continuing contributions to the Library, University, and/or community

Evidence of continuing scholarly/musical activity contributing to knowledge in librarianship or a relevant allied field

Evidence of continuing professional development and the potential for continued growth

 

 Professor - Librarian

Expert knowledge of materials and resources in the candidate's area of responsibility

Innovative contributions to library operations, procedures, and functions which transcend specific job-related work assignments

Demonstrated leadership ability

Evidence of sustained value to the Library and the University

Sustained record of scholarly/musical activity contributing to knowledge in librarianship or a relevant allied field

Evidence of sustained professional development

Evidence of contributions to the profession

Talbott Library Policy Manual

Westminster Choir College of Rider University, Princeton, NJ

The Library Academic Policy Committee (LAPC) is responsible for maintaining the Policy Manuals for both Moore and Talbott Libraries.

The Chair of the LAPC is responsible for having approved additions or revisions to the Policy Manuals incorporated into the Manuals and posted to the Rider University Libraries StaffWeb.


Please ask Talbott Chair or librarians to view Talbott Library Policy Manual

Talbott Services

Talbott cataloging and technical services wiki at PBwiki : http://talbott.pbworks.com/w/page/17200235/FrontPage

Markup for Title Pages

Title pages of pam-bound items need to be marked so the student workers know what information to put on the horizontal ("long") labels. These labels almost always follow one of the following formats.

For an item with a single composer or author:


M7.B122 K3 v.1

Bach, Johann Sebastian


Organ works


For a collection of works by various composers:


M1619.F36 I5

Famous silly songs


K. Kauffman, ed.


In nearly all cases, the line immediately under the call number should be the main entry: the name found in the 1XX field, or the title if there is no 1XX. Indicate that this is the main entry by putting a double underscore beneath the first letter of the main entry (last name of an individual, first word in the name of a corporate entity or of a title).

In the case of a work with a composer/author, the bottom line on the label will contain the title (245 $a). Mark the title with mini-parentheses.

If the work has the title as main entry, the bottom line will have the name of the arranger, compiler, or editor. Mark this with a single underscore below the first letter of the last name and also beneath the individual's function. If necessary, add the name and arr., comp., or ed. to the title page.

Write REF, OVERSIZE, or MiniScore above the call number as needed.

For items that cannot be labeled with one of these formats, attach a note clearly showing what the label should look like.

 

Moore and Talbott Use of 948 Field

List of Standards and Practices updated June 2013

Guest printing

Policy approved by LAPC 23 January 2007:

"Guests are generally defined as anyone other than RU students, faculty or staff, conservatory faculty and staff, WCC summer workshop participants, or retirees. Guests are requested to limit their use of printing, and it is preferred they save documents to personal storage devices, or e-mail. At the discretion of the reference librarian or circulation staff or supervisor on duty, guest printing usernamers may be given for small amounts of printing, but passwords will be entered by staff or librarians. All guest printing will be ten cents per page, payable at the circulation desk."