Skip to main content

Philosophy

Online Databases: Books and Journals

Online Texts and Journals

Chinese Philosophical Etext Archive

Site includes electronic versions of Chinese philosophical texts and other resources for Asian philosophy.

DOAJ: Philosophy Journals

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ), providing full-text, scholarly articles from the archives of 162 free philosophy journals.

Journal of Artificial Intelligence Research

JAIR covers all areas of artificial intelligence(AI), including referred research articles, survey articles, ad technical notes.

JournalTOCs - Philosophy

Tables of Contents (TOCs) for current philosophy journals; also searchable by keyword.

Minerva: An Internet Journal of Philosophy

Minerva is an electronic journal of philosophy that is published annually. The journal publishes articles relating to philosophy construed in a broad but scholarly sense, without preference for any particular school or intellectual tradition.

Notre Dame Philosophical Reviews

Detailed high-quality reviews of recently published philosophy books.

Online papers in Philosophy

Provided by Prof. David Chalmers of Australian National University and NYU. "A list of individuals who have made available online papers in philosophy and related areas."

People with Online Papers in Philosophy

Includes a list of individuals, primarily academic philosophers, who have made papers in philosophy and related areas available online. The database provides links to these papers.

Philosopher's Imprint

A referred series of original papers in philosopy, edited by philosophy faculty at the University of Michigan.

Philosopher's Magazine

Offers articles on a variety of philosophical issues. Also includes news about philosophy, philosophical puzzles, games, and exercises.

Philosophy Books and Texts on the Net

HTML versions of many classical Philosophical texts, hosted by Gustavus College

PhilSci (Philosophy of Science Archive)

Preprint server for the philosophy of science sponsored by the Philosophy of Science Association, the University of Pittsburgh's Center for Philosophy of Science and University Library system.

Psyche: An Interdisciplinary Journal of Research on Consciousness

A referred electronic journal with articles, book reviews, and other information supporting the interdisciplinary exploration of the nature of consciousness and its relation to the brain.

Sorites

An electronic journal featuring articles in all fields of pure and applied philosophy within analytical philsosophy.

Web Sites and Gateways to resources on Philosophy

Aesthetics On-Line

Academic Info: Philosophy Resources

This Website provides access to online educational resources through a subject directory covering each academic discipline.

African Philosophy Resources

Arguments and Their Evaluation

Continental Philosophy

This page is intended to provide resources and links for researchers and students in the various areas of continental philosophy.

Eighteenth-Century Resources -- Philosophy

English Server - Philosophy Collection

This collection contains canonical philosophic texts and links to scholarly and philosophic organizations. The English Server has additional collections in critical theory, history, and eighteenth century studies which also address philosophical interests and concerns, and can be accessed from the links on this page.

Episteme Links

Site has thousands of categorized links to philosophy resources on the Internet.

Erratic Impact - Philosophy Research

Integrating text resources with the best online resources, this study guide attempts to aid both academic and general interest in all philosophical genres and their related fields.

Ethics Updates

   Ethics Updates provides updates on current literature, both popular and professional, that relates to ethics.

EthicsWeb

European Group on Ethics in Science and New Technologies

Gender Watch

With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over the years.

HyperNietzsche

Internet for Philosophy

   A free online tutorial to help university students develop their Internet research skills for writing on philosophy.

Internet Guide for Chinese Studies: Philosophy and Religion

A large selection of hyperlinks, documents and other information about Asian philosophy and religion.

Intute - Philosophy

   Directory of recommended philosophy-related websites

IPL2 - Philosophy

   Directory of recommended philosophy-related websites

Kennedy Institute of Ethics

Markkula Center for Applied Ethics

Mediaeval Logic and Philosophy

Medical Ethics Overview

           Online resources for Biomedical ethics issues

Noesis (Hippias)

   Philosophy search engine lists and indexes Open Access Philosophy Journals

Nuffield Council on Bioethics

NYPL's Best of the Web: Philosophy

   Website collections -- categorized by Subject area

Philosophy of the Mind -- a Field Guide

Philosophy around the Web

A guide and gateway to philosophy resources on the Internet.

Philosophy at Large

A guide to philosophy resources on the web hosted by the Department of Philosophy at the University of Liverpool.

Philosophy in Cyberspace

A well organized site that indexes and annotates thousands of philosophy resources. Provides subject, organization, and document lists.

Philosophy Pages

   Offers helpful information for students of the Western philosophical tradition.

Philosophy Research Base

Erratic Impact's Philosophy Research Base is categorized by history, subject and author. Integrating text resources with the best online resources.

Philosophy since the Enlightenment

Philosophy Sites Organized by Topic

PhilPapers: Online Research in Philosophy

   A comprehensive directory of online philosophical articles and books by academic philosophers

PhilWeb Bibliographical Archive

   A pathfinder to print and electronic information in philosophy

Pragmatism Cybrary

   A Website devoted to the study of pragmatism. Includes links to other Websites on past and present pragmatists.

The Tanner Lectures on Human Values

University of Toronto Joint Centre for Bioethics

Voices of the Shuttle - Philosophy

Directory of recommended philosophy-related websites

Podcasts and Other Media

The Philosophy Podcast

"With The Philosophy Podcast, LearnOutLoud.com will showcase audio renditions of classic philosophy from such greats as Socrates, Plato, Aristotle, Descartes, Nietzsche and much more." Free downloadable versions of classic texts.

Philosophy Talk (Stanford University)

"Philosophy Talk is a weekly, one-hour radio series... [Taylor & Perry's] down-to-earth and no-nonsense approach brings the richness of philosophic thought to everyday subjects...lofty...arresting...and engaging." -- Think "Car Talk" for everyday issues.

BBC Radio 4 "In Our Time: Philosophy Archive"

"Melvyn Bragg and guests investigate the history of ideas." Programs cover both individual philosophers and perpetual questions in philosophy.

Philosophy Bites 

Podcasts of top philosophers interviewed on bite-sized topics

History of Philosophy without any gaps  

Series of podcasts covering the history of philosophy from the beginning. Updated weekly.