Skip to main content

Philosophy

Print Index to Journal Articles

Philosophers Index

Call Number: Z7127 .P47

Philosophers Index is available in print version at Rider's Moore Library.  However, the online version is available for Rider students to search and print articles in the reference room of the Roscoe L. West Library of The College of New Jersey, 2000 Pennington Rd, Ewing, NJ 08638.

E-Journals on Philosophy

For other Internet sources of articles on philosophy, see under the "Web Sites" tab of this guide.

Find Articles in Rider's Online Databases and Indexes

These are the primary commercial databases available to the Rider University community for finding articles on topics related to philosophy.   See also the open-access philosophy databases available under the Web Sites tab above.


Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes

Academic Search Premier

"Academic Search Premier provides full text from nearly 3,180 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies."  An even more extensive version of this database (covering 7,900 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,800 peer-reviewed journals) is at Academic Search Complete.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

A collection of encyclopedias and other reference sources which covers a variety of topics including history, literature, gender and sexuality, religion, the arts, and sciences.

Historical Abstracts

A complete reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present, (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life) comprising over 2,000 journals published throughout the world.

Humanities Index Full Text

Indexes the content of magazines and journals in art, communications, gender studies, history, and other disciplines. It includes both scholarly journals and specialized magazines.

JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive Available in Full Text - Authentication Required

JSTOR contains the full text of articles published in approximately 430 journals from the fields of arts and sciences, and business. It's archive spans from the first volume of the journal to within the past three to five years of the journal.

Literary Reference Center (LRC)

A comprehensive literary reference database, which provides users with a broad spectrum of reference information from antiquity to the present day. LRC is a completely full-text database that combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else.

MLA International Bibliography

An index to the content of journals books proceedings and other resources in the disciplines of languages, literature, linguistics and folklore.

Project Muse

Project MUSE offers nearly 200 quality journal titles from some 30 scholarly publishers in philosophy, literature, history, social sciences, and the arts.  This publicly available database includes the full content of each journal with the exception of advertisements.

PsycARTICLES

A database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group.  More limited number of articles on philosophy than PsycInfo (see following entry).

PsycINFO

Provides access to citations and summaries of articles from some 1500 journals, some dating to 1887.  Contains many articles on subjects related to philosophy.

PubMed

Search PubMed for articles on medical ethics or topics of philosophy related to medical science, such as philosophy of science or philosophy of mind.

Sage Publications Online

SAGE publishes more than 520 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. SAGE Journals Online is the delivery platform that provides online access to the full text of individual SAGE journals.

Social Sciences Full Text

"Social Sciences Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles of at least one column in length from English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere plus the full text of selected periodicals. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of social sciences journals. Abstracting coverage begins with periodicals published in January 1994. Abstracts range from 50 to 300 words and describe the content and scope of the source articles. Full text coverage begins in January 1995."

Wilson Omnifile Full Text

Wilson OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition is a multi-disciplinary database providing the complete content - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six of Wilson's full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Wilson Business Full Text.