Library catalog:
Rider's online library catalog searches for materials held at both Talbott Library and Moore Library.
OneSearch cross-searches all of the library’s resources, including books, scores, audios, videos, journal articles, electronic resources, and more.
Using OneSearch is going to return a LOT of things, much of which you will not need or want. In this database, the skill comes in limiting that which is not relevant to your needs.
Databases for abstracts and full text articles:
The ARTstor Digital Library "makes available more than 1.4 million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences from outstanding museums, photo archives, photographers, scholars, and artists.” Useful if working on a project connecting music and art works in some way.
EBSCO databases. EBSCO is a company that owns and develops many different databases in a variety of disciplines. Search them one at a time or in combination. Contains RILM Abstracts of Music Literature and the Music Index (Also an abstract database).
JSTOR, which contains the full text of articles published in approximately 430 journals from the fields of arts and sciences, and business. Its archive spans from the first volume of the journal to within the past three to five years of the journal. Searches can be limited to music journals only.
Grove Music Online incorporates The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd Edition (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd Edition (2001), as well as all subsequent updates and emendations.
Oxford Handbooks of Music Online contains in-depth articles by scholars at the top of their field.
The Oxford History of Western Music online offers an unmatched account of the evolution of Western classical music by one of the most prominent and provocative musicologists of our time, Richard Taruskin.
Project MUSE offers nearly 200 quality journal titles from some 30 scholarly publishers, including several important music journals.
Books (REFERENCE AND GENERAL COLLECTION)
Claude Debussy; a bibliography / Claude Abravanel.
Claude Debussy : a guide to research / James R. Briscoe.
Catalogue de l'œuvre de Claude Debussy / François Lesure.
Thematisch-chronologisches Verzeichnis der musikalischen Werke von Alexander Skrjabin / Daniel Bosshard.
The New Grove Russian masters 2 : Rimsky-Korsakov, Skryabin, Rakhmaninov, Prokofiev, Shostakovich / Gerald Abraham ... [et al.]
Scriabin / Ye. Rudakova and A.I. Kandinsky ; translated by Tatyana Chistyakova.
Scriabin : a biography of the Russian composer, 1871-1915 / by Faubion Bowers.
Websites of possible value (please examine these carefully):
IMSLP: International Music Score Library Project (Category:Scriabin, Aleksandr). IMSLP is a virtual library of public domain music scores. Image quality varies wildly.
IMSLP: International Music Score Library Project (Category:Debussy, Claude).
