The Symbolists (and symbolism) - TH452 - Analytical Studies II: Symbolist Composers

Articles

Select databases that can be searched for articles on how to write about music, or articles written by established authorities in the field which serve as examples of writing about music.

Roll your mouse over each resource to read a concise description of each.

NOTE: some of these resources will require your EZ Pass information in order to gain access.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Interdisciplinary resource.
JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new window
JSTOR contains the full text of articles published in approximately 430 journals from the fields of arts and sciences, and business. It’s archive spans from the first volume of the journal to within the past three to five years of the journal.

Oxford History of Western Music
The Oxford History of Western Music online offers an unmatched account of the evolution of Western classical music by one of the most prominent and provocative musicologists of our time, Richard Taruskin. You MUST read an article or two from this resource!

Grove Music Online (Oxford Music Online) This link opens in a new window
Factual, biographical writing.

Library-specific Search Tools

Rider Libraries OneSearch
One Search cross-searches all of the library’s resources, including books, scores, audios, videos, journal articles, electronic resources, and more.
Rider Libraries Catalog
Search Talbott and Moore Libraries for books, scores, and recordings.