CRC-100 (Oster, Fall 2020)

• When do you need for your research: books, magazine, journals or newspapers? Check out this research guide The Best Source Types.
• How do you know if an article is scholarly? Check this research guide Scholarly vs. Popular.
   or watch the short video.

According to the information cycle, different types of sources are generated.

Capitalize your connectors AND/OR

1. Phrase Search-keep a phrase together so it will not get separated and lose intended meaning

Example

"yellowstone park"

"sandy hook"

2. Truncations  - use * after the root of a word to search the word with various endings

 Example

comput* -computer, computers, computerize computerized, computerizing, computational, computation

wom?n - woman or women

girl*-girl, girls, girlish

3. Boolean Operators - use AND/ OR/ NOT to connect your keywords - Boolean Machine.

 Example- AND

california AND parks

"yellowstone park" AND "wild life"

Example- OR

women OR girl* OR female*

research OR survey or case stud*

Example- NOT (AND NOT)

yellowstone NOT park

clinton AND NOT hillary

4. Use parenthesis and quotation marks for logical execution of search terms

"sexual harassment" AND ("work place" OR office)

Tips for One Search

1. Use Advanced search interface

2. Search by keyword  and limit search in Subject (SU) or Abstract (AB) field

3. Use keywords describing one concept in each search box, connect synonyms with connector OR (capitalized)

4. Limit to Online Access to access full-text articles or e-books online

5. Limit to Peer Reviewed for scholarly journal articles or by Publication Date for more current items.

5. Example of Library One Search:

Sample topic:  Should plastic water bottles be banned?

               Keywords search statement:  plastic AND water bottle* AND ban*

Note: 

1. Limit keywords in Subject or Abstract field

2. Limit to Online Access & In Library and by Publication Date from 2010 to 2020

Find Full Text Articles

1. PDF, HTML link directly to full text articles 

2. Get it @ Rider University Libraries link you to several possibilities:

   a. another database that has the article in full text
   b. an open journal on the Internet
   c. the library catalog - the article may be in a print periodical inside the Library.  

3. If you cannot get full text from Get it @ , use Journals at the Library Home to search the journal name and locate the full text article.

4. I still have question, ask a librarian. 

Record of an article

Click the article title , you will see the whole record of the article.

Note:

1. You can email the article

2. Source  includes the name of the periodical, date of publication, page number.

3. Cite on the right side gives you APA, MLA citation of the article.

4. Note the database the article is in. 

• Find a perfect article but how do you know if you have access to the text? This Finding the Full Text of Articles Research Guide can help you.
• Still have trouble finding text? Ask a librarian.

Library Catalog

                  Advanced Search

Tutorial on How to Search Online Catalog

Note: You can also use Library One Search to find Library's books and DVDs. 

Sample book search 

1. At the Advanced Search box, enter  cell* phone OR mobile phone, Limit to Subject

2. Under Location > Moore Stacks (shelves)

3. Use the book call number to find books on the shelves.

4. For an ebook, read online or download it to check it out for the check-out period. The file will expire upon due date.

Sample topic: Educating children with autism

Result page

Sources Links:  Library Catalog,   Points of View Reference Center,  CQ Researcher, One Search

Your Topics & suggested keywords: 

Note: keyword suggestions below are for One Search. Use basic keywords for Point of View and CQ Researcher.