Talbott Music Library, part of Rider University Libraries, located on the third and fourth floors of the Franklin F. Moore Library building, is named after Katharine Houk Talbott, one of Westminster Choir College's original principal benefactors. Talbott supports the music curriculum of Westminster Choir College as well as courses and programs for the School of Fine and Performing Arts in Lawrenceville. Talbott’s collections comprise over 85,000 volumes of music books and scores, over 7,200 choral music titles in performance quantities, a choral music reference collection over 80,000 titles, and over 28,000 sound and video recordings. Access to more than 10,000 periodical titles in a mix of print and online formats, and a wide variety of online research tools including audio and video streaming are available on and off-campus. Additionally, exceptional holdings are found in the library's Special Collections.
E-Mail - firstname.lastname@example.org
Resources and Services: Talbott Library’s Reference Collection includes standard reference works for music in traditional and electronic formats. The collection includes bibliographies, biographical dictionaries, composers’ complete works and thematic catalogs, dictionaries, directories, encyclopedias, musical monuments and periodical indexes.
Reference Librarians help users
Contact: (609) 921-7100 ext. 8314
The library accepts reference questions from the general public. However, first priority will be given to Westminster Choir College and Rider University students, faculty, staff, and alumni. Likewise, users in the library will have priority over those using telephone reference.
Talbott Library Friends, founded in 1982, is an organization that promotes and enhances the excellence of Talbott Library. Friends have the opportunity to volunteer their time and talents for specific projects on an as needed basis. Funds raised by the Talbott Library Friends are used to provide extra resources and services beyond the scope or reach of the library budget.
About Talbott Library
The Katharine Houk Talbott Library, honoring one of the school’s original principal benefactors, is located at Westminster Choir College, Rider’s Princeton campus. The emphasis is on music, with holdings of more than 85,000 scores, music-related books and journals, and over 25,000 sound and video recordings. Talbott Library’s Performance Collection comprises over 7,000 choral music titles in performance quantities. Special Collections at Talbott include significant reference collections of choral octavos, organ music, hymnals, archival materials and more.
Becoming a Friend
Membership in the Talbott Library Friends is open to all individuals. No attendance or active participation is required. To become a Talbott Library Friend simply fill out the application form below, along with a minimum, tax-deductible donation of $25. Your membership will be valid for 1 year and must be renewed annually to remain a Talbott Library Friend.
This form is to be printed out and mailed. It is in Rich Text Format, an open standard for documents that most word processing programs can understand.
Talbott Friends Borrowing Policies
Talbott Library Friends Achievements
Talbott Library – January 2016
General Donation Guidelines
Talbott Library welcomes gifts of books, scores, audiovisual (CD and DVD), and manuscript materials that fall within the scope of its collection development policy. Due to the high cost of managing the gift process, only items deemed likely for inclusion in the collections will be accepted.
The materials must be in good condition. The library does not accept items that are:
The library does not accept long-playing (LP) or 78 rpm discs, any audiotape formats, or 12-inch laserdiscs, except for items with a direct connection to Westminster Choir College.
Other decisions are based upon the present and anticipated demands of the teaching and research needs of the University.
Gifts of materials are accepted with the understanding that the Library becomes owner of the materials. The Library reserves the right to determine their retention, location, cataloging treatment and other considerations related to the use or disposition of those materials.
The library can accept a gift only after receiving and reviewing an itemized list of materials offered; however, we encourage prospective donors to contact the library for a conversation about a possible donation before compiling that list: email@example.com or 609-921-7100 x8314.
Monetary donations are an excellent way to support our collections as well as the services and facilities of the libraries. The donor may designate that a specific fund be set up in a particular subject area or topic. For further information, contact Bob Terrio, Chair, Talbott Library - firstname.lastname@example.org, 609-921-7100 x8296.
Acceptance and Acknowledgment
Once a gift is brought into the library, the donor will be asked to sign a donation agreement. A letter of acknowledgement will be sent to the donor, if requested on the donation form. The letter normally acknowledges only the type and number of items donated (e.g., 5 scores; 11 books; 7 CDs), but if the donor wants acknowledgement of individual titles, a copy of the initial donor-provided list will be included with the letter of acknowledgement. n the case of extensive or exceptional gifts, bookplates may be added to those materials, and/or notes may be added in the online catalog records for those materials. This should be discussed with a librarian prior to the acceptance of a gift.
Donations and Tax Benefits
By law, librarians cannot value and/or appraise materials. Donors should arrange for a third-party appraisal prior to donation.