RefWorks

RefWorks Citation Manager is a plugin that lets you run a simplified version of RefWorks in Microsoft Word. RefWorks Citation Manager is a newer, more modern version of Write-N-Cite.

RefWorks Citation Manager is available through the Microsoft Store and can be installed directly from Microsoft Word. By default, Office automatically updates RefWorks Citation Manager whenever a new version becomes available.

Features:

• Provides read-only access to your RefWorks account, enabling you to view and insert your previously collated references into your document, formatted using previously defined citation styles.
• You can add inline citations. Adding a citation also adds a bibliography to the end of the document. As you add or remove references, the plugin automatically updates the bibliography.
• Every time you log into RefWorks Citation Manager, it automatically synchronizes with your RefWorks account.

NOTE:

• Mac users of Microsoft Office 2016 MUST USE RefWorks Citation Manager. Windows users of Microsoft Office 2016 users can choose whether to use Write-N-Cite or RefWorks Citation Manager.
• Codes inserted by Write-N-Cite are not recognized by RefWorks Citation Manager, and vice versa. You MUST choose which tool you would like to use.
• RefWorks Citation Manager provides limited access to your RefWorks account, and does not enable you to make changes to your references.
• If you have documents with codes that were added using RefWorks Citation Manager associated with legacy RefWorks, RefWorks Citation Manager can convert these codes to (new) RefWorks. RefWorks Citation Manager cannot otherwise manage older codes.

How do I install RefWorks Citation Manager (RCM)?

1. To install RefWorks Citation Manager, open a new Microsoft Word document. Click on the Insert tab in your Microsoft Word ribbon and click on Get Add-ins.

2. In Office Add-ins, search for RefWorks. Click on Add.

3. An RCM tab will appear in your Microsoft Word ribbon. Click on RefWorks Citation Manager to launch the tool. You will be required to make an alternate password - login with your Rider email address and your chosen alternate password.

RefWorks for Google Docs is a plugin for Google Docs that lets you run a simplified version of RefWorks inside of Google Docs. RefWorks for Google Docs enables you to access and cite your references while working in Google Docs.

Features:

• Provides read-only access to your RefWorks account, enabling you to view and insert your previously collated references into your document, formatted using previously defined citation styles.
• You can add inline citations. Adding a citation also adds a bibliography to the end of the document. As you add or remove references, the plugin automatically updates the bibliography.
• When you share your document with another user who is using RefWorks for Google Docs, they can edit and delete any RefWorks references in the document and can add their own references to the document.
• Every time you log into RefWorks for Google Docs, it automatically synchronizes with your RefWorks account.

How to install

1. Open a blank document and select Add-ons > Get Add-ons and search for RefWorks

2.  Select Free and Allow to add RefWorks for Google Docs.

3. Select Add-ons > ProQuest RefWorks > Manage citations. A RefWorks sidebar opens on the right.

4. Whenever you open the sidebar, as long as you did not log out after your last session, you are still logged in. If you are logged out, enter your credentials to log into RefWorks. Your references appear in the sidebar.

5. To set the citation style, select Change citation style in the configuration menu, select a citation style, and select Update. Every time you perform this action, all citations and the bibliography will be updated to the new styl

How to use Google Docs Plug in

1.  Start writing and when you are ready to insert your first citation, select Add-ons > ProQuest RefWorks > Manage Citations. 

2.   If this is your first time using the RefWorks add-on, you’ll be asked to log in to your RefWorks account. Once you’ve logged in, you don’t need to log out unless you’re on a public computer.

3.   The right-hand pane will change, defaulting to your RefWorks All references view.

4.   If you want to work with a RefWorks folder of references, just click on All references to see your list of folders.  Choose the collection with the references you need for your paper.  You can also use the Search option to search for specific references.  The search option searches all fields in a reference record.

5.   You can start writing your paper and when you are ready to cite a reference in RefWorks, click on the citation and click the Cite This button. The in-text citation will be inserted (using the last output style you used in RefWorks).

6.   There is also a citation editing option.  Click Edit and Cite to add page numbers, hide the author name, or hide the publication year in your in-text citation (dependent upon the output style you are using). You will also see a preview of the in-text citation and your bibliography entry.