Skip to main content

McNair Scholars Program: Information Literacy Strand

The TRiO/McNair Scholars Program is geared toward enhancing those skills and experiences that will be required to compete successfully in graduate school.

The Search Begins Here!

Rider University Libraries subscribe to over 140 databases, where you can find citations and obtain access to reliable, quality, and popular and/or scholarly information--newpaper, magazine, and journal articles; white papers; book chapters; and encylopedic and factual information--as well as streaming music and video.  All educators should definitely become familiar with the databases detailed below, not to mention our Library One Search tool, which cross-searches our library catalog and most of our databases:

Library Databases & Indexes

From the Libraries' home page select Databases & Indexes. From here you can browse databases by SUBJECT or ALPHABETICALLY.  The following are selected databases that might be helpful in your research. There may be more; check the links above. The truncation symbol for these databases is an asterisk (  *  ). See the search examples below and on the "Searching Tips and Strategies" tab above on this subject guide:

 

ERIC 

The world’s largest source of education information, this database contains over a million documents and journal articles, with some full text, on education research & practice—see the Search Hints below, AND try comparing the "Basic Search Example" directly below with the "Advanced Search Example" following it, exploring the important differences for a better search result:

 

BASIC SEARCH EXAMPLE (using only ERIC database):

 

 

 

 NOTE: Let the database(s) help you limit/refine the search results for you--see below:

 

ADVANCED SEARCH EXAMPLE

(simultaneously using ERIC, Academic Search Premier, & PsycINFO):

 

 

 

NOTE: Below are a few more relevant databases that educators should explore:

 

PsycINFO 

This database is the major index to the field of psychology, with some material available full text. You can also narrow your search results to find peer reviewed journals.

 

     --------------------

 

Academic Search Premier  

This large, multi-disciplinary database provides full text articles for thousands of periodicals, some dating back into the 1800’s, and you can narrow your search results to find peer-reviewed journals.

 

OmniFile Full Text Mega  

This multi-disciplinary source provides content from 11 different databases (e.g., Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, covering many topics. You can also narrow results to peer-reviewed journals.

 

     --------------------

 

CQ Researcher

This database "offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of today’s most important issues." Each report is on a single topic, with extensive info, bibliographies, and pro/con arguments included.

 

Points of View Reference Center

This multi-disciplinary database provides hundreds of topics, "many with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument)."

 

Google Scholar

If you explore Google Scholar, REMEMBER:  You should never pay for an article. Check the Journal Holdings page to see if the Libraries subscribes or has access to the journal.  If not, we can get it for you through Interlibrary Loan (Delivery from Other Libraries); this may take up to two weeks, so give yourself enough lead time.

Google Scholar Search