Skip to main content

Market Research

Demographics

Market Share Reporter: An Annual Compilation of Reported Market Share Data on Companies

  Reference HF5410 .M35

Arranged by SIC code, this annual publication includes data such as top ten lists and market share divided by company.

Editor and Publisher Market Guide

 Reference HF5905 .E38

Market data for more than 1,600 cities and all 3,096 countis.  Projects retail sales by broad category.  Includes income levels, disposable    income, some retail projections. 

Mediaweek Marketer’s Guide to Media  

   Reference HF5805 .M46

Includes trends and demographics for media with separate sections on men, women, adults, teens and Hispanics. 

New Jersey Municipal Databook

 Reference HT123.5.N5 N53
 
This annual publication provides a basic overview of each of the 566 municipalities in the state of New Jersey.  :Categories of information about municipalities include: Demographics and Socio-economic Characteristics, School System, :Municipal Services, Housing and Construction, Government Officials, Public Library, Debt, Municipal Finance and Taxes.  :County information is provided within the following categories: Education, Government and Taxes.

America's Top-Rated Cities

Reference HA214 .A43 2004

Finding out how far someone will travel to purchase a good or service can take some work.  The chart below has a description of some of the types of stores/services available in various types of shopping centers.  You will notice to the right there is an average trade area for the shopping center.  It can serve as a good rule of thumb for the size of the local market.  The chart is from "How the Industry Operates" in the Retailing:General industry profile from Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage database.  I recommend the rest of this section for further information. 

HOW TO CITE THIS:

Levy, E. (2015, June). Industry Surveys: Multiline Retail. Retrieved from Standard & Poor’s NetAdvantage database.

Trade Areas

Finding out how far someone will travel to purchase a good or service can take some work.  The chart below has a description of some of the types of stores/services available in various types of shopping centers.  You will notice to the right there is an average trade area for the shopping center.  It can serve as a good rule of thumb for the size of the local market.  The chart is from "How the Industry Operates" in the Retailing:General industry profile from Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage database.  I recommend the rest of this section for further information. 

HOW TO CITE THIS:

Levy, E. (2015, June). Industry Surveys: Multiline Retail. Retrieved from Standard & Poor’s NetAdvantage database.