Research Guides: International Entrepreneurship: Industry Information by Country

Tips

It's easiest to understand the structure of an industry by using IBISWorld even though that only has US information. The structure of an industry remains relatively the same. IBISWorld is found on the US Industry Information tab on the left.

Information on every industry is NOT available for all countries, not even the US if it's very new. It makes this information more difficult to find but we have several excellent resources for international industries.

International Industry Information

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier is the world’s definitive scholarly business database, providing indexing and abstracts for more than twice as many active, peer-reviewed, business related journals as any other database. Business Source® Premier offers indexing and abstracts for the 350 most important scholarly journals back to 1965 or the first published issue. This database includes searchable cited references for more than 1,160 journals. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Premier is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics and economics.
ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news

This database is the most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, ABI/INFORM Dateline and ABI/INFORM Archive, featuring over 3,000 full-text journals, 25,000 Dissertations, 14,000 SSRN working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world. A list of the subjects used in the database is available at the reference desk in Moore Library.

International Marketing Data and Statistics 2014 by Euromonitor International Staff
Call Number: REF HF1371 .I58 2014
World Consumer Lifestyles Databook 2014 by Euromonitor (Editor)
Call Number: REF HF5415.32 ,W67 2014

Search websites from a given country

Two letter domains, such as .au, .br., .cn, and .in, and (for example), are called country code top-level domains (ccTLDs) and correspond to a country, territory, or other geographic location.

See a list of country two-letter domains , for example .ru for Russian Federation, .de for Germany

You can do an advanced search in Google or in Google Scholarand put a country's code in the "Search within a site or domain" box to search websites from that country.

NationMaster

NationMaster
Find Market Sizing and Trends on most sector, in most countries

Sources for International Industry Profiles

Databases

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statistics, infographics, industry reports, and more!

Statista is one of the world’s largest statistics portals. Providing you with access to relevant data from over 18,000 sources, our focus is firmly based on professional, clear, quick and consistent results. Our customized search query form provides you with a list of statistics, studies and reports relating to your search request within a matter of seconds – kick-starting your research.
ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news

This database is the most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, ABI/INFORM Dateline and ABI/INFORM Archive, featuring over 3,000 full-text journals, 25,000 Dissertations, 14,000 SSRN working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world. A list of the subjects used in the database is available at the reference desk in Moore Library.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier is the world’s definitive scholarly business database, providing indexing and abstracts for more than twice as many active, peer-reviewed, business related journals as any other database. Business Source® Premier offers indexing and abstracts for the 350 most important scholarly journals back to 1965 or the first published issue. This database includes searchable cited references for more than 1,160 journals. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Premier is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics and economics.
Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) iLibrary This link opens in a new window
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD's analysis and data. OECD iLibrary also contains content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF). Every year around 300 new titles are published via OECD iLibrary associated with the following themes: Agriculture & Food; Development; Economics; Education; Employment; Energy; Environment; Finance and Investment; Governance; Industry and Services; Nuclear Energy; Science and Technology; Social Issues / Migration / Health ; Taxation; Trade; Transport; Urban, Rural and Regional Development.

NOTE: Rider University is NOT a subscriber to this database BUT all book and journal content is *available to all users to READ FREE online by clicking the READ icon (eye icon)*. All users can access *and download* select materials such as the OECD Factbook, OECD Working Papers, Indicators, and more.