International Entrepreneurship
Sources for Country Reports
One suggestions to find resources is to search in Library One Search, the main search box on the library's website.
In advanced search, you can type the name of your country in one box and pull down the All Fields Box to Subject.
On the results page, use the filters beneath the search box to limit to Online Access, Under All time, Change it to Past 5 years (or less), and Under Source Type, consider Reports and eBooks.
If you click on All Filters limiter beneath the search (seen in the picture above), you can further limit by subject, or content provider. With Content Provider, I noticed a lot of the Reports were from the Business Source Premier database. We might have better results just searching there.
Below is a screenshoit of the All filters window that appears on the right side of the screen.
- India Country ReviewIncludes geographical, political, economic, corporate, & environmental information on India.
- Country/Territory Report - BrazilA country report for Brazil with topics including terrorism risk; social stability; as well as economic outlook and forecast for the country.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowOpen "Reports" and select Country & Region Reports.
It's also possible to find industry statistics for many countries such as "non-alcoholic beverages" AND China. - Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowSearch for your country
Use the limiters beneath the search box
Past 12 months (under All time)
Country Reports (Under Source Types)
- Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) iLibrary This link opens in a new windowEasiest to search by Theme & Country on the toolbar at the top.
NOTE: Rider University is NOT a subscriber to this database BUT all book and journal content is *available to all users to READ FREE online by clicking the READ icon (eye icon)*. All users can access *and download* select materials such as the OECD Factbook, OECD Working Papers, Indicators, and more. - Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowCredo Reference provides access to 600+ encyclopedias, handbooks, guides and dictionaries. These reference works cover a wide swath of topics including, science and medicine, history and cultural studies, business, education, and much more.
- CIA World Fact BookBasic data on geography, political system, demographics, etc.
- BTI The Transformation IndexFind Political Transformation, Economic Transformation, & Governance Index
- Human Development ReportsUN's collection of statistics on education, human rights, fertility. environmental controls, life expectancy, etc. Include these statistics in discussions of culture as well as economics.
- Transparency International Corruption Perceptions IndexAccess to a survey of business people on how corrupt their government systems are. This could include the courts, inspectors, and regulators as well as politicians. A corrupt system increases business risk greatly.
- World Trade OrganizationUse the search box to find your country's member page.
- GlobalLex (NYU)countries' laws and government structure.
Sources for Data with less analysis
- IMF DataMapperAllows you to customize lots of data, primarily of government funds and country-level economic information.
- globalEdgeGet insights by country - numbers
Infrastructure : celluar & internet use,, roads, rail, motor vechiles. Labor : labor force & unemployment People : population,ages, density Gov't : seats held by women, tax rate Health expenditure, fertility, mortality, life expectancy rates Education : gov't expenditure, literacy rate Economy manufacturing, GDP growth, inflation Trade & Investment : foreign investment, exports and imports of goods & services, Energy : production, use, gasoline price, alternative & nuclear energy - UN Country ProfilesProvides data (numbers) including General Information, Social Indicators, & Environment and infrastructure indicators
- World BankThis is a direct link to their data page. Download the file at the right on each country page to see all the data they have.
- World Economic Outlook DatabaseInternational Monetary Fund data (numbers) on many countries. Includes several different ways of measuring GDP, and includes trade, unemployment and government finance. Allows data from several countries to be downloaded at the same time.
- A. T. Kearney 2023 Global Services Location IndexThe A.T. Kearney Global Services Location Index (GSLI) is a valuable tool for evaluating and comparing the attractiveness of different countries for outsourcing and offshoring services. The 2023 edition of the index includes updated rankings and insights based on factors like cost, risk, and availability of skilled labor.
- Business Risk Dashboard (Coface)Includes over 160 country evaluations that provide an estimate of the average credit risk on a country’s businesses. Assessments (or rankings) of country risk and business climate give an indication of a country’s potential influence on businesses’ financial commitments. Choose a country from the drop-down menus to view profiles that include macroeconomic indicators, a list of strengths and weaknesses and country commentary.
- TMF News & InsightsSearch for your Country and "Doing Business In"
- US Dept. of Commerce Country Commercial GuidesThese guides are created to increase US businesses' ability to sell abroad.
- Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) ViewsWire SubscriptionAs part of the Economist Intelligence Unit's Country Analysis Team, Viewswire highlights economic, political, and market developments for 200+ countries and provides analytical briefings on their implications for business.
- Business Ready (B-READY)The World Bank Group is implementing a new corporate flagship, Business Ready (B-READY) to assess the business and investment climates in 180 economies worldwide annually.
B-READY improves upon and replaces Doing Business. Updates on the development of the new B-READY project will be published on this website as they become available. In the interim, this website will act as a one-stop shop to spotlight a set of curated indicators and resources for users focused on improving the business environment. - Doing Business (2004-2020)Replaced by B-Ready (coming October 2024)