Research Guides: International Entrepreneurship: US Industry Information

Using IBISWorld

IBISWorld - Industry Market Research This link opens in a new window
Detailed U.S. Industry research reports including industry performance, outlook, major companies, supply chain, demand drivers, cost structure, barriers to entry, and key statistics

Below is what a report looks like and every tab on the side links to lots of information. Business ratios are under key statistics (at the bottom).

Citing Industry Reports from IBISWorld in APA 7th edition

Reference List:

Author last name, first initials. (Year). Report Name: Report Number. IBISWorld. https://ibisworld.com

Kennedy, K. (2021). Music Streaming Services in the US. OD6193. IBISWorld. https://ibisworld.com

In-text citation:
(Author, Year).
Example: (Kennedy, 2021).

Parts of a Citation

Finding Industry Profiles in IBISWorld

Finding Industry Profiles (outside of IBISWorld) 7 min.

The following are direct links to pieces of the above tutorial

Databases

We have access to many industry profiles, but each publisher has their own division of businesses into industries and not all industries have profiles in all the profile collections. It is worthwhile to check them all even if you find information on your industry in one of them. Different publishers, different information!

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier includes access to international MarketLine industry profiles. These industry profiles are data-intensive with not a lot of analysis. Recommended as an additional source. Funded by the New Jersey State Library and the New Jersey Knowledge Initiative
ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news

This database is the most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, ABI/INFORM Dateline and ABI/INFORM Archive, featuring over 3,000 full-text journals, 25,000 Dissertations, 14,000 SSRN working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world. A list of the subjects used in the database is available at the reference desk in Moore Library.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is one of the world’s largest statistics portals. It provides charts and infographics as well as information. Click on the arrow next to Industries and see the list of current selections.

First Research Industry Profiles
This links to ABI-Inform's landing page for the First Research Industry Profiles

NAICS and SIC codes help classify and measure industry activity.
Knowing the code for your industry will help you find reports, articles, and other information on that industry.

Even though the codes are standardized, different resources will assign codes differently. Additionally, many companies can have multiple codes because of their various business segments. Be flexible and cautious when using codes to search, and always check multiple sources.

Note: Sometimes there isn't a perfect or obvious code. If you have questions, please contact a business librarian.

NAICS Codes from US Census
Use this site to search for NAICS codes.
Note: It can be tricky to find the right wording. Try variants- cell phone vs. mobile phone vs. wireless communications, etc.
Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) System Search
Use this U.S. Department of Labor site to search for an industry code by keyword, or look up an SIC code.

Reference Solutions (formerly Reference USA) This link opens in a new window
This database provides information for millions of U.S. businesses nationwide. Search by company name, size, revenue, business costs, location, industry and other criteria. Reference Solutions can be used to research competitors, B2B customers, suppliers, and potential employers. location, size and type of business. Access provided by the New Jersey State Library.