Research Guides: Business of Media: Mass Media Resources

Tips

If you need news, popular or academic articles on mass media topics, use the databases Communincations & Mass Media Complete and Film and Television Literature (links below). For business topics and trade publications, click on the Business Articles tab on the left.

For viewing statistics and consumer data, use Statista (link below) and for details on the demographics and opinions of the televsion viewing public, use Simmons Insight (tab on the left).

Databases

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. This database originated with the acquisition and subsequent merging of two popular databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies -- CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). Communication & Mass Media Complete provides an invaluable resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in any and all aspects of communication and mass media.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Film & Television Literature Index™ with Full Text is the definitive online tool for film and television research. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. The database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 380 publications (and selected coverage of 300), as well as full text for more than 120 journals, and 100 books. In addition, Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to the present and over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statistics, infographics, industry reports, and more!

Statista is one of the world’s largest statistics portals. Providing you with access to relevant data from over 18,000 sources, our focus is firmly based on professional, clear, quick and consistent results. Our customized search query form provides you with a list of statistics, studies and reports relating to your search request within a matter of seconds – kick-starting your research.