CMP-125 (Peters, Spring 2024)
Online Reference Databases
Credo Reference provides access to 1,000+ encyclopedias, handbooks, guides, and dictionaries covering science and medicine, history and cultural studies, business, education, psychology, social sciences, and much more.
- Credo Reference Research GuidesEach subject guide is broken down into topics, which point you to resources in Credo.
Browse or search on the Credo Landing Page
Review and Filter Results and Explore Related Concepts
At the top of the article - find the citation information
Browse or search on the Credo Landing Page
Review and Filter Results and Explore Related Concepts
At the top of the article - find the citation information
At the bottom, look at the references, many will link to articles you may wish to evaluate for your paper.
CQ Researcher offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of today's most important issues. Each report is on a single topic—more than 12,000 words of text and extensive bibliographies. ... Each weekly issue provides up-to-date information on controversial subjects written by CQ's staff of experienced reporters.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowCQ Researcher offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of today's most important issues. Each report is on a single topic—more than 12,000 words of text and extensive bibliographies. ... Each weekly issue provides up-to-date information on controversial subjects written by CQ's staff of experienced reporters.
Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Researcher is a great database to use when researching political and social issues.
On the results page, you may want to change the sort order to "Most Recent" or "Most Popular" or use the date filter on the left-hand side.
These very comprehensive reports are well-worth the read. Find citation info at the top of the page.
- Literary Reference Source This link opens in a new windowLiterary Reference Source™ is a comprehensive database that provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. It has been specifically designed for public libraries, secondary schools, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research. Literary Reference Source is a full-text database that combines information from thousands of major respected reference works, books, and literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Content includes thousands of plot summaries, essays of literary criticism, author biographies, book reviews, classic and contemporary poems, classic and contemporary short stories, and author interviews. Access provided by the New Jersey State Library.
Offers thousands of plot summaries, synopses, and title overviews; literary criticism; author biographies and interviews; book reviews; and poems, short stories, and classic texts.
"Literary Reference Center (LRC) is a comprehensive literary reference database, which provides users with a broad spectrum of reference information from antiquity to the present day. LRC is a completely full-text database that combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else. LRC contains detailed information on the most studied authors and their works."
- Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new windowPoints of View Reference Source™ is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides 200 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). Access provided by the New Jersey State Library.
Points of View Reference Center™ is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides 200 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument).
Contents:
- overview essays providing background on the issue
- "Point" essays arguing one side of the issue
- "Counterpoint" essays arguing the opposing view
- A "Guide to Critical Analysis" to help with research and critical thinking
Conduct a search and when you review your results, make note to use the ⋮ to the right of the article to find Tools, including Cite.
Also, click on Access options to access the entire article
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatistics, infographics, industry reports, and more!
Statista is one of the world’s largest statistics portals. Providing you with access to relevant data from over 18,000 sources, our focus is firmly based on professional, clear, quick and consistent results. Our customized search query form provides you with a list of statistics, studies and reports relating to your search request within a matter of seconds – kick-starting your research.
See our Statista Research Guide for more info
Library One Search results will include "Research Starters" -
Search for your keywords, and the first result will be highlighted with a yellow lightbulb and labeled "Research Starter".
From the library home page, click on the Catalog tab
Then advanced search.
Craft your search - No need to change the pull down box from keyword as keyword searching will be very helpful. In one box, type your subject.
In the example, dance is used.
In the second box, you can type words that are usually associated with these materials: encyclopedia OR manual OR guide OR handbook OR atlas
Hint: Include OR to indidcate any of these words. As opposed to AND or nothing - which will find books using all of those words.
Here is the results page, you can further filter down. In this example, we are looking at ebooks vs printed books.
