Research Guides: Advertising: Brand Analysis

Brand Analysis

The business databases, listed below, contain articles in magazine, newspapers, and journals that discuss brand names. One way to search for brands in each database is to search using the keywords, "(brand or brands)"--include the parentheses, but not the quotes--plus your other keywords, such as the name of a company.

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news

This database is the most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, ABI/INFORM Dateline and ABI/INFORM Archive, featuring over 3,000 full-text journals, 25,000 Dissertations, 14,000 SSRN working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world. A list of the subjects used in the database is available at the reference desk in Moore Library.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier is the world’s definitive scholarly business database, providing indexing and abstracts for more than twice as many active, peer-reviewed, business related journals as any other database. Business Source® Premier offers indexing and abstracts for the 350 most important scholarly journals back to 1965 or the first published issue. This database includes searchable cited references for more than 1,160 journals. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Premier is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics and economics.
Business Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Business Abstracts with Full Text™ offers a multitude of business magazines and scholarly journals: this comprehensive database contains the full text of articles from more than 510 key publications dating back to 1995, and provides access to product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, statistical rankings, book reviews and reports from associations, societies, trade shows, conferences and more.

America's ad icons [videorecording] / produced by Jaffe Productions for TLC

Princeton, NJ : Films for the Humanities & Sciences, c2003.
1 DVD (51 min.)

Brands and their companies consumer products and their manufacturers with addresses and phone numbers / Linda D. Hall, editor.

Detroit, Mich. : Gale Group, c2003.
Lists over 94,000 companies and 380,000 brands. Sources include company literature, trade journals, and the United States Patent and Trade Office (PTO). Historical brands (brands no longer in production or now considered generic) are also included.
Encyclopedia of consumer brands / editor, Janice Jorgensen.
Each article includes an "At a Glance" table providing basic information (market share, competitors, advertising agency, etc.) as well as sources of further reading. Each volume includes indexes by brand name, companies and persons, advertising agencies, and brand categories.
Encyclopedia of major marketing campaigns / Thomas Riggs, editor.
Detroit : Gale Group, 2000.
The index lists the brands covered in the encyclopedia. The emphasis is obviously on advertising campaigns, but most of the articles provide historical context. Most of the articles provide sources of further reading