MKT-330 (Greenberg, Fall 2025)
Websites
Provides data on international business, market conditions, trade regulations, economic indicators, industry reports, supply chain, global competitiveness, and market entry strategies.
- CIA World Fact Book
Provides broad overviews of national security, political systems, and geopolitical aspects. Data is often geared towards US interests and perspectives.
- UN Country Profiles
Provides statistics that are essential for understanding human development, healthcare, education, poverty, and sustainability issues. Find deeper statistics than CIA World Fact (such as fertility rate and employment by industry.)
- World Bank
Best for Emerging Markets – focuses on development economics, providing data on poverty, education, and health to understand the macroeconomic environment, development issues, social conditions, and the long-term economic outlook of countries, particularly those in emerging markets.
Download the file on each country page to access all the available data - Eurostat
Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union. Eurostat's data spans a wide range of topics, including economics, employment, trade, health, education, social conditions, environment, and demographics. Additionally, Eurostat tracks data for subnational regions, allowing for deeper insights into local-level economic and social trends.
- OECD Economic Surveys
comprehensive, evidence-based analyses of a country's economic performance and policy challenges. Includes economic growth, inflation, employment, public finance, labor market report, sustainable growth, climate change.
-
International Monetary Fund
Macroeconomic data, track global economic developments, and gain insights into the economic health of various nations
- The Culture Factor - Country Comparison Tool
Compare countries across a range of cultural factors, including communication styles, business etiquette, and social norms including power distance, individualism vs. collectivism, uncertainty avoidance, and more
- Commisceo Country Culture Guides
Provides a table of which countries have "easier" business cultures. Provides links and sources at the bottom to learn about the rankings. See Discover Global Business Culture to find cultural information for many countries.
- Every Culture/World Culture Encyclopedia
The core content of EveryCulture.com is derived from the four-volume print encyclopedia "Countries and their Cultures," which was originally published by Macmillan Reference (an imprint of Gale, Cengage Learning).
- globalEDGE
For cultural information, use the search box at the top to find your country. Click on "Country Insights" and on the left of that page, click on "Culture."
- B-Ready (World Bank)
Offers comprehensive, transparent data on worldwide business climates. Download economy profiles or the full report to explore 1,200 indicators per economy.
- US Dept. of Commerce Country Commercial Guides
These guides are created to increase US businesses' ability to sell abroad.
- Business Risk Dashboard (Colface)
Includes over 160 country evaluations that provide an estimate of the average credit risk on a country’s businesses. Assessments (or rankings) of country risk and business climate give an indication of a country’s potential influence on businesses’ financial commitments. Choose a country from the drop-down menus to view profiles that include macroeconomic indicators, a list of strengths and weaknesses and country commentary.
Global Entrepreneurship Monitor (GEM) reports
- Global Entrepreneurship Reports (GEMS Reports)
A collection of assessments of national entrepreneurial activity. Each report has the same type of statistics for ease in comparison
- GEMS Global Report
If your country doesn't have its own report, there may be data in the Global Report. China is included in this report.
On the gemconsortium page, find Research in the toolbar at the top (torwards the right),
Under Research, select Economy Profiles
Click View Profile for your desired economy 
View the Entrepreneurial Behaviour and Attitudes. To see more, click on Reports on the View Reports button on the left. Reports may be in the country's national language. Look for English summaries, if available or use translation tools.
- New Businesses Registered
Data is not available on all countries, but you can also choose other data points by clicking on the down triangle in the search bar at the top. Select search by indicator. Merchandise trade as a percentage of GDP, total tax rate, etc. are some of the other choices. Also, Poverty, Nutrition, FInance, Climate Change, Then select country.