ENG 366: Black and Multiethnic Literature (Peters, Fall 2024)
I'm ONLINE! Email me for Research Help via Zoom or In Person!
Welcome!
Today we will discuss:
1. DISCOVERY of relevant children's literature based on subject terminology and designated themes by using
- Library Catalog (via Library One Search and/or the Catalog interface)
- NoveList
- Various awards lists and Internet lists
2. ACCESS to the titles you need by using:
- Our library catalog
- Other libraries' catalogs (example: Mercer County Library)
- Interlibrary Loan
What to find:
In research collection and class presentation of your research findings, you will collect TWO (2) representative children's literature books (or animated films) for EACH of the following ethnic American groups:
(1) European American OR JEWISH (2 representative children's books or animated films)
(2) African American (2 representative children’s books or animated films)
(3) Asian American (2 representative children’s books or animated films)
(4) Hispanic/Latinx (2 representative children's books or animated films)
(5) Native American (2 representative children's books or animated films)
(6) A selected Ethnic group of YOUR CHOICE that hasn't been covered in class: you select an ethnic group of choice, e.g., Arab/Muslim American, Pacific Islander American, West Indian/Caribbean American, Filipino American) 2 books
FULL ASSIGNMENT FALL 2024
Multiethnic Children's Literature Project (30% Grade Value) (Due date will be announced on Oct. 2.)
Project is divided into three (3) Component Parts:
(1) Class Presentation on Multiethnic children's lit books collected.
(2) Annotated Bibliography of Multiethnic Children's Books collected
(3) Self-Reflective Essay on your Research Collection Experience in locating Multiethnic Children's Literature Books
- Directed Essay Title that you must use as title of essay: "America, the Beautiful (or Ugly): What to the MultiEthnic Children's Literature Writer is America?"
Project Guidelines: General Description
***Students should use imaginative, creative thought in selecting books for presentation and follow-up Self-Reflective essay that should contain themes relevant to our semester’s Discussion theme by exploring the question: How is America depicted in Multi-Ethnic Children’s Literature books by ethnic American writers?
- Demonstrate/show (via show and tell) how your collected books' graphics and themes help convey your main arguments about each text you discuss.
***Multi-Ethnic Children's Literature Project Assignment is worth (30% of Final Course Grade). The project is comprised of the following three component parts or major requirements:
(1) Book Presentation in class on Multi-Ethnic Children's Literature Books researched and collected ( via a power point graphic/illustrated report of approximately, 15-20 minutes)
(2) Annotated Bibliography of Multi-Ethnic Children's Literature Books researched and collected for presentation. Copies of Annotated Bibliography should be distributed to each member of the class.
(3) Self-Reflective Essay (5 to l0 double-spaced pages, don't go over 12 pages) will focus on your Research and Collection Experience with researching and collecting Multi-Ethnic Children's Literature Books (and/or animated children's films such as Coco, Encanto, Frozen, Luca Moana, etc. ( A book review by a kid from a classic children's show such as Reading Rainbow would be COOL!)
(a) Part l of Self-Reflective Essay: What was your research and collection experience like in locating Multi-Ethnic Children's literature books? Was it EASY or VERY difficult? Why?
(b) Part 2 of Self-Reflective Essay: The Diversity Challenge: Pro and Con: Why is the inclusion of diverse ethnic literary texts in the reading experience of children and young adults in the home or school classroom important (or not important) for the intellectual, sociological and creative, artistic growth of kids? How can the exploration of difference and diversity in children's books be celebrative and educational?
In this section of your essay, One (l) of the following reference sources -- with the incorporation in your essay of a quoted passage from One (l) source -- must be cited to support your critical arguments about the need for diversity in children's books this section of your essay:
(1). Walter Dean Myers, “Where are the People of Color in Children’s Books?”
Link:
OR
(2) Ashley Strickland, “Where’s the African-American Harry Potter or the Mexican Katniss?”
Link:
https://www.cnn.com/2014/04/09/living/young-adult-books-diversity-identity/index.html
EXPANDED EXPLANATION OF ASSIGNMENT GUIDELINES AND REQUIREMENTS:
Part A: (Presentation and Hands-on Engagement with books in class before Audience of Peers and the Professor)
1. Presentation Topic: America, the Beautiful (or Ugly) : What is America to the Multi-Ethnic Children's Literature Writer? 15-20 minutes
Focus: How is America depicted in the Multi-Ethnic children’s literature books or animated films that you’ve researched and collected?
Use imaginative, innovative and creative thought in tailoring your book selections in the context of this assigned topic on images/representations of America in multi-ethnic children's books.
2. Multi-Ethnic Children's Literature Books: How many? What ethnic groups are to be presented/discussed in presentation? What grade level or age group?
In research collection and class presentation of your research findings, you will collect TWO (2) representative children's literature books (or animated films) for EACH of the following ethnic American groups:
(1) European American OR JEWISH (2 representative children's books or animated films)
(2) African American (2 representative children’s books or animated films)
(3) Asian American (2 representative children’s books or animated films)
(4) Hispanic/Latinx (2 representative children's books or animated films)
(5) Native American (2 representative children's books or animated films)
(6) A selected Ethnic group of YOUR CHOICE )that hasn't been covered in class: you select an ethnic group of choice, e.g., Arab/Muslim American, Pacific Islander American, West Indian/Caribbean American, Filipino American) 2 books
In the News
- New Groups Aim To Get More Latinx Stories To Young Readers (NPR, 9/8/20
Children don't often get to read stories by or about Latinos. The American book publishing industry remains overwhelmingly white, according to the Cooperative Children's Book Center, which found only five percent of books published for young readers are by or about Latinx people. But several new groups of writers, editors and agents are trying to increase Latino representation in children's literature.
In some instances, the "official" name of a cultural or ethnic group is not the name the group refers to themselves or is not what you expect it to be.
This is because of colonialist histories and who had the power to dominate and thus name and categorize others.
There are many terms in the Library of Congress Subject Headings that have become outdated, have always been incorrect, or are otherwise offensive to that group.
One fraught term is "Indians of North America." There is currently a national group working on a more accurate and representative terminology to represent the diverse tribes of Native Americans/indigenous peoples, including naming the individual tribes themselves.
Read more about the issue below.