MKT-260 (Greenberg, Fall 2025)
Search for Information
Search for Company information
- IBISWorld - Industry Market Research
Detailed U.S. Industry research reports including industry performance, outlook, major companies, supply chain, demand drivers, cost structure, barriers to entry, and key statistics
- Business Source Premier (Marketline Industry Profiles and Barnes Reports)
Business Source Premier is the world’s definitive scholarly business database, providing indexing and abstracts for more than twice as many active, peer-reviewed, business related journals as any other database. Business Source® Premier offers indexing and abstracts for the 350 most important scholarly journals back to 1965 or the first published issue. This database includes searchable cited references for more than 1,160 journals. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Premier is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics and economics.
Statista is one of the world’s largest statistics portals. It contains industry profile and company statistics.
- Business Market Research Collection
Company profile information on 40,000 public and non-public companies, includes: overview, history, fact sheet, financial data, competitors, products & operations, subsidiaries & affiliates, and key executives.
Bureau of Labor Statistics data for over 100 industries, available in Alphabetical order by industry or NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) number order.
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) and Standard Industrial Classification (SIC)
NAICS and SIC codes help classify and measure industry activity.
Knowing the code for your industry will help you find reports, articles, and other information on that industry.
Even though the codes are standardized, different resources will assign codes differently. Additionally, many companies can have multiple codes because of their various business segments. Be flexible and cautious when using codes to search, and always check multiple sources.
Note: Sometimes there isn't a perfect or obvious code. If you have questions, please contact a librarian.
- NAICS Codes from US Census
Use this site to search for NAICS codes. Standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. Updated every 5 years.
Note: It can be tricky to find the right wording. Try variants- cell phone vs. mobile phone vs. wireless communications, etc. - Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) System Search
Older system (doesn't cover industries that emerged after 1987).
- FactSet
CBA Affiliates Access Only - Username and Password required. For login help see: https://guides.rider.edu/factset
Learning Tutorials are located at: https://learn.factset.com/ - Statista
Statista is one of the world’s largest statistics portals. Providing you with access to relevant data from over 18,000 sources, our focus is firmly based on professional, clear, quick and consistent results. Our customized search query form provides you with a list of statistics, studies and reports relating to your search request within a matter of seconds – kick-starting your research
- Hoover's Company Profiles
Company profile information on 40,000 public and non-public companies, includes: overview, history, fact sheet, financial data, competitors, products & operations, subsidiaries & affiliates, and key executives.
- Business Source Premier
Find Marketline Company Profiles. Find Company Profiles tab at the very top of the page.
- Securities and Exchange Commission EDGAR - SEC filing forms including 10K and 10K/A.
Annual Reports on the Web. All companies, foreign and domestic, are required to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms electronically through EDGAR. Anyone can access and download this information for free. Here you'll find links to a complete list of filings available through EDGAR and instructions for searching the EDGAR database.
-
Reference Solutions (Local competition)
The Reference Solutions database contains detailed information on more than 79 million U.S. businesses; 147 million U.S. residents; Job postings; 2.3 million Canadian businesses; and 11 million Canadian residents.
-
Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news. Limit document type to company profile.
-
Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news. It contains over 3,000 full-text journals, 25,000 Dissertations, 14,000 SSRN working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world. A list of the subjects used in the database is available at the reference desk in Moore Library.
This is a comprehensive, interdisciplinary resource with a wealth of articles available in full text. It is the most popular database among students. Once inside the database, click on "Choose databases" at the top right-hand corner of the search box. Select all databases so that one search will encompass over 55 different databases provided by the same database provider.
You can search any databases here for business information
- ABI/INFORM Complete
To find trade publications, search for your product or industry or company name in the basic search box. When you see the results page, look to the right to the "Narrow results by" box. Click on "trade journals" to find trade publications.
- Business Source Premier
To find trade publications, search for your product or industry or company name in the basic search box. When you see the results page, look to the left in the "Source Types" box. Click on "trade publications".
Not all trade publications that you find in a search will be specific to your industry. You may find an article on soft drinks in the trade publications Marketing or Drug Store News. However, somewhere in the results you should see the publications that are read by the people in your industry today.
Why and When You Use Trade Journals?
Search within a particular journal
Also included in ABI/Inform database.
First-time users, please select “Create Account” to create an NYTimes.com with Rider email. After creating your account, you may use it to log into NYTimes.com and The New York Times app from any location on any device.
What if you cannot find a journal?
If you cannot find your journal here, most probably Rider Library does not own the journal. We may be able to help you to get an article from another library for free. Please fill in this interlibrary loan form.
PolicyMap is a fully web-based online data and mapping application that gives you access to over 15,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs and more. Data is available at all common geographies (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) as well as unique geographies like school districts and political boundaries. Data comes from both public and proprietary sources. Many of the public files are available for download for free.
Statistics, infographics, industry reports, and more!
Statista is one of the world’s largest statistics portals. Providing you with access to relevant data from over 18,000 sources, our focus is firmly based on professional, clear, quick and consistent results. Our customized search query form provides you with a list of statistics, studies and reports relating to your search request within a matter of seconds – kick-starting your research.
A useful online tool to help people to start small business by US Census Bureau.
Local competition. You can search a type of business in a location, their revenue, number of employees, space, and more
For ebooks, you need to create an account and use this account every time you need an ebook in your four years at Rider.