Research Guides: Veteran Entrepreneurship Training Program (Cook): Advertising and Promotions

Advertising and Promotions

WEBFX: How much does social media marketing cost?
Commercial site with information about the costs of advertising on various social media platforms.
Hootsuite: Social Media Advertising 101
Facebook Benchmark Ads

Trade publications are invaluable. Both ABI-INFORM and Business Source Premier have articles in publications about advertising such as Advertising Age and Adweek that will include information about businesses in your industry. The link below is an example.

TV and radio, ad rates are not so easy to come by. Because there are simply too many variables, broadcast ad rates are always negotiated.

THE MOST EXPENSIVE SHOWS ON TV: Out of 80 returning series on broadcast TV tracked by Ad Age, 38 saw the cost for a 30-second commercial increase

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier is the world’s definitive scholarly business database, providing indexing and abstracts for more than twice as many active, peer-reviewed, business related journals as any other database. Business Source® Premier offers indexing and abstracts for the 350 most important scholarly journals back to 1965 or the first published issue. This database includes searchable cited references for more than 1,160 journals. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Premier is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics and economics.
ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news

This database is the most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, ABI/INFORM Dateline and ABI/INFORM Archive, featuring over 3,000 full-text journals, 25,000 Dissertations, 14,000 SSRN working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.

Advanced Google Search
Any of these box: search for "media kit" "rate card" "media rates"
All of these: publication name (i.e) New York Times
NYTimes Rate Card (found via google search as example)
How to Understand Rate Cards

IBISWorld - Industry Market Research This link opens in a new window
Detailed U.S. Industry research reports including industry performance, outlook, major companies, supply chain, demand drivers, cost structure, barriers to entry, and key statistics
Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Company profile information on 40,000 public and non-public companies, includes: overview, history, fact sheet, financial data, competitors, products & operations, subsidiaries & affiliates, and key executives.