Research Guides: MCS 110 Race, Class, and Gender: Finding Articles

Databases

Cross-searches most of the library's resources, including books, scores, audios, videos, journal articles, electronic resources, and more.

Does not search GenderWatch. Make sure to GenderWatch separately (see core databases for more info).

You can limit your search beforehand to specific disciplines that will contain articles on race, class, and gender. These concepts are cross-disciplinary, so these are just examples. For example, if your topic is one of these facets in education, you could limit to "Education" instead of, or in addition to, other disciplines.

Or you can limit to certain subjects after your search, using the limiters to refine your search.

GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Gender studies - scholarly journal articles, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports

This is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences Full Text™ provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983—nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.
PsycInfo (APA PsycInfo) This link opens in a new window
The PsycInfo® database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages.
Subject: Psychology
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
United States and Canadian history, 1450 to the present.

These databases span several fields (humanities, arts, sciences, social sciences). They are collectively searched in Library One Search, but you may choose to search them separately.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This is a large, interdisciplinary resource; there are many articles available full text. Access provided by the New Jersey State Library.
Interdisciplinary resource.
JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new window
JSTOR contains the full text of articles published in approximately 430 journals from the fields of arts and sciences, and business. Its archive spans from the first volume of the journal to within the past three to five years of the journal.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Currently, Project MUSE offers nearly 200 quality journal titles from some 30 scholarly publishers. ...Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others." Project MUSE includes the full content of each journal with the exception of advertisements.
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Points of View Reference Source™ is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides 200 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). Access provided by the New Jersey State Library.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of today's most important issues. Each report is on a single topic—more than 12,000 words of text and extensive bibliographies. ... Each weekly issue provides up-to-date information on controversial subjects written by CQ's staff of experienced reporters.

Search these subject-specific databases to find articles on your topic from experts in that discipline.

For example, if you are looking at psychological issues of abused women, PsycInfo, a psychology database, will be the best source.

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics and economics.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. This database originated with the acquisition and subsequent merging of two popular databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies -- CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). Communication & Mass Media Complete provides an invaluable resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in any and all aspects of communication and mass media.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Education Full Text™ provides full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996, in addition to indexing of more than 770 periodicals dating back to 1983. Content includes in-depth coverage of special education and more than 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Subject coverage includes adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive education database. Access provided by the New Jersey State Library.
General Science Full Text This link opens in a new window
General Science Full Text™ provides full text from more than 100 periodicals dating as far back as 1995, in addition to indexing and abstracts for nearly 300 periodicals dating back to 1984. Subject coverage includes astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health & medicine, oceanography, physics, zoology and much more.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
World history from 1450 to the present (excluding United States and Canada).
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE® provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy and explosion capabilities to search abstracts from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Included are citations from Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, Index to Dental Literature, HISTLINE, SPACELINE, PREMEDLINE®, AIDSLINE®, BIOETHICSLINE®, and HealthSTAR®. Premier Package customers will have instant access to full text for 1,750 journals indexed in MEDLINE (at no additional charge). Users of MEDLINE will be excited to learn that this is now a "full text database".
PsycInfo (APA PsycInfo) This link opens in a new window
The PsycInfo® database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages.
Subject: Psychology
ScienceDirect Health Science Collections This link opens in a new window
With ScienceDirect Health Sciences collections — covering education, reference information and decision support — keep you up-to-date on medical developments to stimulate research and improve patient care.

More databases by subject
Use the subject areas in the drop-down box to find even more databases.