Skip to Main Content
Rider University Library

Finding the Full Text of Articles

Found the perfect article, but there is no link to the full text? We might have access through another database! Here's how to check.

Check Title in the Journals Tab

  • Perfect article but no link to full text? We might have access through another database. 
  • Citation for a journal article you want to get? Check the see if University Library has access.
For both scenarios:
  • Use the Journals tab on the Discover Library Resources search box to see if the Libraries own or have access to the electronic or print versions of the journal. 
    • Search by ISSN
    • Search by journal title
      • Change the drop-down box to "Title"
      • Put quotation marks around the journal title, for example, "Marvels and Tales."

The Journals tab on the Discover Library Resources box is selected. The drop-down box search index is Title. The search box has the words marvels and tales, the name of a journal, in quotation marks.

If University Library has access to the journal, you will see a record for the title, with either physical holdings or electronic access information (Access Journal). 

The bibliographic record for the journal "Marvels & Tales" is shown. A red arrow points to the "Access journal" button.

  • The list of databases under "Access Journal" provides the date ranges available and the link to the database where the journal is available. If the journal title is available in only one database, this button immediately connects you to the journal access, arranged by date in descending order.
  • Use the date, volume, issue, title, and page information in your citation to locate the article you need.

 

A list of databases where Marvels and Tales is available, by provider and with access dates, is shown.

University Library has no access? Put in a request through Interlibrary Loan!

University Library can obtain articles (and book chapters and books!) from other libraries through Interlibrary Loan. From the Library home page, click the button "Interlibrary Loan (ILL) & Document Delivery" button and fill out the request form for books or articles.

The menu on the library home page is shown, with a purple arrow pointing to the button Interlibrary Loan (ILL) & Document Delivery

 

 

Within a database, you can easily request an Interlibrary Loan when we do not have full text access.

  • You will be prompted to log in to the ILL system with your Rider Key
  • The citation information will be filled in automatically on your own user account.
    • Please check for completeness.
    • Make sure you fill in the date by which you need it--it's a required field.
  • The article or book chapter will be delivered to you electronically in a day or two--or even hours!

Under Access options, the link is highlighted for ILL: "Request this title from another library (ILL!"

You may also consider checking The College of New Jersey Library for book and journal holdings; Rider students have borrowing privileges there. See a TCNJ Librarian for assistance accessing journals and databases.