Music - Reference Resources

""American Song is a history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past.The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more."

"Classical music library is a classical music service that enables listening and learning at library and home computers. It includes around 15,000 recordings, along with program notes, composer biographies, and images cross-referenced to the recordings."

"Contains important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku and more. This database is a complementary database to Smithsonian global sound for libraries - it includes a blend of contemporary and traditional world music recordings from many labels throughout the world"

"A scholarly resource of recordings, including CD quality audio, liner notes and essays from New World, Composers Recordings (formerly Composers Recordings Inc./CRI) and other important labels."

"Jazz Music Library will be the largest and most comprehensive collection of jazz available online — with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres."

"Music Online will deliver audio recordings, video recordings, full-text reference materials, musical scores, liner notes, biographies, and images from the entire suite of Alexander Street Press music products on a single cross-searchable platform."

Historical sound recordings from the Library of Congress, available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives.

""A streaming video database that will contain approximately 250 important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world's leading performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work's importance to the operatic canon. The 2008 release includes 40 videos, equaling 80 hours."

"Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries, produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions."