Gender & Sexuality Studies

"With archival material dating back to 1970, GenderWatch™ provides authoritative historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women. GenderWatch supports gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) studies; family studies; gender studies, and women's studies with a unique interdisciplinary approach."

Social Sciences Full Text™ provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983—nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.

PsycINFO provides access to citations and summaries of articles from some 1500 journals, some dating to 1887. It also contains summaries of book chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations. All of these are in field of psychology or related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.

This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.

JSTOR contains the full text of articles published in approximately 430 journals from the fields of arts and sciences and business. Its archive spans from the first volume of the journal to within the past three to five years of the journal.

Hint: Limit to disciplines relevant to your topic, such as "Feminist and Women's Studies," "Sociology,", "Psychology,", "Health Policy" and "Education". You can limit to just one discipline or several.

Currently, Project MUSE offers nearly 200 quality journal titles from some 30 scholarly publishers. ...Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others." Project MUSE includes the full content of each journal with the exception of advertisements.

Points of View Reference Source™ is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides 200 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). Access provided by the New Jersey State Library.

"Noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each...report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist. ...[P]rovides researchers with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources."

United States and Canadian history, 1450 to the present.

Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. This database originated with the acquisition and subsequent merging of two popular databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies -- CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). Communication & Mass Media Complete provides an invaluable resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in any and all aspects of communication and mass media.

Education Full Text™ provides full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996, in addition to indexing of more than 770 periodicals dating back to 1983. Content includes in-depth coverage of special education and more than 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Subject coverage includes adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more.

The most comprehensive education database. Access provided by the New Jersey State Library.

General Science Full Text™ provides full text from more than 100 periodicals dating as far back as 1995, in addition to indexing and abstracts for nearly 300 periodicals dating back to 1984. Subject coverage includes astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health & medicine, oceanography, physics, zoology and much more.

WORLD history from 1450 to the present (excluding United States and Canada).

Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.

The major index to the field of psychology, with some publications available full text. You can also narrow your search results to find peer-reviewed journals. It also contains summaries of book chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations. All of these are in field of psychology or related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.

Science, technology, and medicine.

SPORTDiscus is a database that covers sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, facility design & management, intramural & school sport, doping, drugs, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, rehabilitation, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, occupational health & therapy, public health and more. With full bibliographic coverage, this database includes over 750,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800; over 20,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages. The content also consists of international references from journal and magazine articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings and more