Research Guides: English Language History and Linguistics: Databases

Subject & Interdiscplinary Databases

MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
An index to the content of journals, books, proceedings, and other resources in the disciplines of languages, literature, linguistics and folklore.

When you find a desired citation:

Use the Journals link from the Libraries web page to see if the Rider Universities Libraries owns the journal in your citation.

If the citation is a chapter of a book, search the title of the book in the library catalog.

Using the MLA International Bibligraphy
FAQs, tutorials, and hints. Also, a free online course to master your skills!

JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new window
JSTOR contains the full text of articles published in approximately 430 journals from the fields of arts and sciences, and business. Its archive spans from the first volume of the journal to within the past three to five years of the journal.

Use Advanced Search and limit to “Language and Literature” and/or “Linguistics” under “
"Journal Filter: Narrow by discipline and/or journal"
See “Searching JSTOR” under “Help” or click the "Search Help" link in the Advanced Search tab to learn the operators to make your keyword searching more effective.

Search the Journals database if a recent or current issue is not full-text in JSTOR to see whether we have access to it in print or another database.

Screenshot of Journal Filter: Narrow by discipline and/or journal. Expand the disciplines below to see associated journals. Return results for:

Shows screenshot of Language & Literature (422) titles highlighted, as well as Linguistics (58 titles) highlighted, with the menu exploded to show individual linguistic journal titles displayed, which may be selected.

Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Currently, Project MUSE offers nearly 200 quality journal titles from some 30 scholarly publishers. ...Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others." Project MUSE includes the full content of each journal with the exception of advertisements.

Project Muse log (white letters on a dark blue/black background, with a lower case styilized m in a gold quote bubble)

After you enter search terms, filter your results to research area “Language and Linguistics” (scroll down on the categories on the left-hand menu).

Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Humanities Full Text™ includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals—of which 470 are peer-reviewed—dating as far back as 1984. The database provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.

A bibliographic and partial full text database of articles that includes Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature.

Subject Headings in this database include English Language/History, English Language/Verbs, English Language/Syntax, English Language/Tense, English Language/Semantics, English Language/Dialects, Sociolinguistics, Language and languages/Philosophy, Language and languages/Political aspects.

Full text is for selected journals for selected years, so check the Journal Holdings link to determine if the Libraries have access elsewhere if the article is not full text.

Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences Full Text™ provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983—nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.

If your topic concerns sociolinguistics, this database may be helpful as well.

Library One Search
Library One Search searches across hundreds of databases, including the ones mentioned above, and more. Select the discipline "Language & Linguistics" to limit your results before you search, if you'd like a more focused search experience.

English Language History and Linguistics

Subject & Interdiscplinary Databases

"Journal Filter: Narrow by discipline and/or journal"