Research Guides: International Marketing: Websites

Vetted Websites

CIA World Fact Book
Basic data on geography, political system, demographics, etc.
globalEdge
globalEDGE seems to provide the most comprehensive and tailored data for your specific assignment requirements. It covers cultural, historical, economic, and market-related aspects,
UN Country Profiles
Provides data (numbers) including General Information, Social Indicators, & Environment and infrastructure indicators
World Bank
Download the file at the right on each country page to see all the data they have.
Eurostat
Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union. The goal of Eurostat is to provide high quality statistics for Europe.
OECD iLibrary Economics books
IMF DataMapper
Allows you to customize lots of data, primarily of government funds and country-level economic information.

The Culture Factor - Country Comparison Tool
Compare countries across a range of cultural factors, including communication styles, business etiquette, and social norms including power distance, individualism vs. collectivism, uncertainty avoidance, and more
The Business Culture Complexity Index™
Provides a table of which countries have "easier" business cultures. Provides links and sources at the bottom to learn about the rankings. See Discover Global Business Culture to find cultural information for many countries.
globalEdge
For cultural information, use the search box at the top to find your country. Click on "Country Insights" and on the left of that page, click on "Culture."
Every Culture
World Culture Encyclopedia
Amnesty International
Discusses Humans Rights Issues in each country.
OECD ilibrary Social Issues
Cultural Atlas
Educational resource offering information on cross-cultural attitudes, practices, norms, behaviors and communications for selected nationalities.

Business Risk Dashboard (Coface)
Includes over 160 country evaluations that provide an estimate of the average credit risk on a country’s businesses. Assessments (or rankings) of country risk and business climate give an indication of a country’s potential influence on businesses’ financial commitments. Choose a country from the drop-down menus to view profiles that include macroeconomic indicators, a list of strengths and weaknesses and country commentary.
TMF News & Insights

Search for your Country and "Doing Business In"
US Dept. of Commerce Country Commercial Guides

These guides are created to increase US businesses' ability to sell abroad.
Business Ready (B-READY)

The World Bank Group is implementing a new corporate flagship, Business Ready (B-READY) to assess the business and investment climates in 180 economies worldwide annually.
B-READY improves upon and replaces Doing Business. Updates on the development of the new B-READY project will be published on this website as they become available. In the interim, this website will act as a one-stop shop to spotlight a set of curated indicators and resources for users focused on improving the business environment.
Doing Business (2004-2020)

Replaced by B-Ready (coming October 2024)

Global Entrepreneurship Monitor Reports

Global Entrepreneurship Reports (GEMS Reports)
A collection of assessments of national entrepreneurial activity. Each report has the same type of statistics for ease in comparison
GEMS definitions
GEMS Global Report
If your country doesn't have its own report, there may be data in the Global Report. China is included in this report.

On the gemconsortium page, find Research in the toolbar at the top (torwards the right),

Under Research, select Economy Profiles
Click View Profile for your desired economy screenshot of https://www.gemconsortium.org/ with Research circled in the toolbar, the menu for Research is expanded and Economy Profiles is circled

View the Entrepreneurial Behaviour and Attitudes. To see more, click on Reports on the View Reports button on the left. Reports may be in the country's national language. Look for English summaries, if available or use translation tools.

screenshot of a gems report of Entrepreneurial Behaviour and Attitudes with an arrow pointing to view reports on the left hand side

New Businesses Registered
Data is not available on all countries, but you can also choose other data points by clicking on the down triangle in the search bar at the top. Select search by indicator. Merchandise trade as a percentage of GDP, total tax rate, etc. are some of the other choices. Also, Poverty, Nutrition, FInance, Climate Change, Then select country.

The TEA/AECOM Theme Index and Museum Index
This annual report provides attendance figures and analysis for top theme parks worldwide.

Industry Associations

The resources below come from the "Websites & Acronyms" section of the amusement parks industry report in First Research.

Note: Some of these websites will have only available to association members or subscribers. Since we are not members of these associations, we will not have access to information that is behind a paywall.