Skip to main content

CMP 125 Boldizar (Fall 2019)

Locate

1. Think of the general subject you want information on.

2. Select "Advanced Search" whether you are looking in a database, the library catalog, or using One-Search, this gives you different search options such as subject, title, author in addition to keyword.

3. Type the subject term you are researching, for example - "Environment" or "Immigration" in the first search box

4. Search the term as a subject.

This search gives you over 166,000 articles on the environment.

 

4. You can start narrowing your search by adding terms in the next box. These terms can be keyword.

You can continue to add more terms to narrow your search results.

5. Or you can use the "Refine Results" column to limit your results to scholarly journals, peer-reviewed articles, full-text, and other options

Search Tips - A Tutorial

Capitalize your connectors AND/OR

1. Phrase Search-keep a phrase together so it will not get separated and lose intended meaning

Example

"yellowstone park"

"sandy hook"

2. Truncations  - to search words of various endings

 Example

comput* -computer, computers, computerize computerized, computerinzing, computational, computation

wom?n - woman or women

girl*-girl, girls, girlish

3. Boolean Operators - use AND/ OR/ NOT to connect your keywords - Boolean Machine.

 Example- AND

california AND parks

"yellowstone park" AND "wild life"

Example- OR

women OR girl* OR female*

research OR survey or case stud*

Example- NOT (AND NOT)

yellowstone NOT park

clinton AND NOT hillary

4. Use parenthesis and quotation marks for logical execution of search terms

"sex harrassment" AND ("work place" OR office OR corporations)

One Search allows the searching of multiple databases, the library catalog, and other scholarly sources.

You can also limit your search to specific subject areas using the advance search option.

  • Academic Search Premier
    • A multi-disciplinary database with more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
  • OmniFile Full Text Mega
    • OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition contains  the full text of articles from over 2,500 publications.
  • MLA Bibliography
    • The MLA Directory of Periodicals offers detailed information on over 5,500 journals.
  • ERIC
    • A comprehensive database devoted to education.
  • General Science Full Text
    • Provides full text from more than 100 science periodicals dating back to 1995.
  • Newspapers
    • New York time, Wall Street Journal, LexisNexis Academic.
  • Points of View Reference Center
    • Short essays that present multiple sides of a current issue.
  • Proquest
    • Provides access to databases across all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion.
  • PubMed
    • The world's largest Biomedical database.
  •