Skip to main content

HIS-150 (Boyer, Fall 2019)

Locate

  Next, find information about your topic.  
 

Identify what types of sources will be good for your topic: books, audio, journals, magazines, websites?

What search tools can help you locate them, the library library catalog, journal databases, web search engines?

Depending on what you find, you might need to revise your topic or search strategy.

If you are having trouble finding information on your topic, always feel free to ask a librarian.

 

1. Think of the general subject you want information on.

2. Select "Advanced Search" whether you are looking in a database, the library catalog, or using One-Search, this gives you different search options such as subject, title, author in addition to keyword.

3. Type the subject term you are researching, for example - "Environment" or "Immigration" in the first search box

4. Search the term as a subject.

This search gives you over 166,000 articles on the environment.

4. You can start narrowing your search by adding terms in the next box. These terms can be keyword.

You can continue to add more terms to narrow your search results.

5. Or you can use the "Refine Results" column to limit your results to scholarly journals, peer-reviewed articles, full-text, and other options

Search Tips - A Tutorial

Capitalize your connectors AND/OR

1. Phrase Search-keep a phrase together so it will not get separated and lose intended meaning

Example

"yellowstone park"

"sandy hook"

2. Truncations  - to search words of various endings

 Example

comput* -computer, computers, computerize computerized, computerinzing, computational, computation

wom?n - woman or women

girl*-girl, girls, girlish

3. Boolean Operators - use AND/ OR/ NOT to connect your keywords - Boolean Machine.

 Example- AND

california AND parks

"yellowstone park" AND "wild life"

Example- OR

women OR girl* OR female*

research OR survey or case stud*

Example- NOT (AND NOT)

yellowstone NOT park

clinton AND NOT hillary

4. Use parenthesis and quotation marks for logical execution of search terms

"sex harrassment" AND ("work place" OR office OR corporations)

  • Academic Search Premier
    • A multi-disciplinary database with more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
  • OmniFile Full Text Mega
    • OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition contains  the full text of articles from over 2,500 publications.
  • EconoLit
    • EconoLit contains more than 1,000,000 records related to all aspects of economics from 1969-present.
  • GreenFile
    • GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
  • Newspapers
    • New York time, Wall Street Journal, LexisNexis Academic.
The Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History & Diplomacy
Internet Ancient History Sourcebook: Greece
A collection of links to public domain translated primary sources related to the ancient Greece.
 
Internet Ancient History Sourcebook: Islamic
A collection of links to public domain translated primary sources related to Islam.
 
English Medieval Legal Documents A.D. 600-A.D 1535
 
Perseus Collection: Greek and Roman Materials
Hundreds of searchable works by classical Greek and Roman authors, both in the original language and in translation, as well as thousands of images of architecture, sculpture, coins, vases, and sites, maps, and a number of important secondary sources including the Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites, and the Liddell-Scott Greek-English Lexicon.
 
Asia for Educators
An assortment of primary sources from ancient China, Japan, Korea and more.
 
 
 
 

Library Catalog

                  Advanced Search

Tutorial on How to Search Online Catalog

 

Sample book search

1. At the Advanced Search box, enter  cell* phone OR mobile phone, Limit to Subject

2. Under Location > Moore Stacks (shelves)

3. Use the book call number to find books on the shelves.

book search and Moore Stacks

Moore Library has a limited selection of primary sources.

Search the library catalog using the Advanced Search Option:

In the first search box type your main topic either as a key word or subject search. Keyword usually gives the most search results.

In the second search box use "source*" as a subject term. You can also use "letter*" or "document*" to find primary sources.

 

 

This search gives the following results: