Skip to main content

HIS-180 (Bailey, Fall 2019)

Locate

  Next, find information about your topic.  
 

Identify what types of sources will be good for your topic: books, audio, journals, magazines, websites?

What search tools can help you locate them, the library library catalog, journal databases, web search engines?

Depending on what you find, you might need to revise your topic or search strategy.

If you are having trouble finding information on your topic, always feel free to ask a librarian.

 

1. Think of the general subject you want information on.

2. Select "Advanced Search" whether you are looking in a database, the library catalog, or using One-Search, this gives you different search options such as subject, title, author in addition to keyword.

3. Type the subject term you are researching, for example - "Environment" or "Immigration" in the first search box

4. Search the term as a subject.

This search gives you over 166,000 articles on the environment.

4. You can start narrowing your search by adding terms in the next box. These terms can be keyword.

You can continue to add more terms to narrow your search results.

5. Or you can use the "Refine Results" column to limit your results to scholarly journals, peer-reviewed articles, full-text, and other options

Search Tips - A Tutorial

Capitalize your connectors AND/OR

1. Phrase Search-keep a phrase together so it will not get separated and lose intended meaning

Example

"yellowstone park"

"sandy hook"

2. Truncations  - to search words of various endings

 Example

comput* -computer, computers, computerize computerized, computerinzing, computational, computation

wom?n - woman or women

girl*-girl, girls, girlish

3. Boolean Operators - use AND/ OR/ NOT to connect your keywords - Boolean Machine.

 Example- AND

california AND parks

"yellowstone park" AND "wild life"

Example- OR

women OR girl* OR female*

research OR survey or case stud*

Example- NOT (AND NOT)

yellowstone NOT park

clinton AND NOT hillary

4. Use parenthesis and quotation marks for logical execution of search terms

"sex harrassment" AND ("work place" OR office OR corporations)

  • Avalon Project at Yale Law School
    • The Avalon Project posts digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government from the pre-18th century to the present. Major collections include colonial charters, the Constitution, the Cold War, Treaties between the U.S. & Native Americans, and World War II to name just a few.
  • Documenting the American South
    • Sponsored by the Academic Affairs Library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Documenting the American South is a collection of sources on Southern history, literature and culture covering the colonial period through early 20th century. The collection is organized into seven sub-collections or projects: First-Person Narratives of the American South; Library of Southern Literature, North American Slave Narrative; The Southern Homefront, 1861-1865; The Church in the Southern Black Community; The North Carolina Experience, Beginnings to 1940; North Carolinians and the Great War.
  • Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History
    • The Gilder Lehrman Collection, on deposit at the New-York Historical Society, contains more than 80,000 documents detailing the political and social history of the United States. The collection's holdings include manuscript letters, diaries, maps, photographs, printed books and pamphlets ranging from 1493 through modern times. The searchable database of rare and important American historical documents contains nearly 400 annotated transcripts from the Collection. Authors include Geroge Washington, John Quincy Adams, Harriet Beecher Stowe, Frederick Douglass, and Abraham Lincoln. The documents span the years from Columbus's arrival to the end of the Civil War and represent topics as varied as colonial frontier life, the Boston Massacre, the "Amistad" affair, and the role of African American troops in the Civil War.
  • Past Portal: Colonial Williamsburgs Portal to American History
    • An archive of page images of 18th century American newspapers and books, including the full run of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780).

 

  • Chronicling America
    • Chronicling America is a Website providing access to information about historic United States newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages covering the period 1836-1922.  The site is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC).
  • Chicago Tribune
    • This historical newspaper provides access to first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the midwest from 1846-1996.
  • Hartford Courant
    • This historical newspaper provides researchers with online access to coverage of the politics, society and events of the northeast from 1764-1993
  • ICON: Newspaper digitization
    • ICON provides links to past, present, and prospective digitization projects of historic newspapers in the United States and the world.
  • National and State Newspapers
    • Covers a broad swath of U.S. history — from the 18th to the 21st century. Select from a choice of state, city, town, county, and regional newspapers.
  • Pennsylvania Gazette
    • The Pennsylvania Gazette was published in Philadelphia from 1728 through 1800 and provides first hand reporting of colonial America, the American Revolution,and the early republic.  The Gazette was considered one of the leading papers in its time.National and State Newspapers.

 

Library Catalog

                  Advanced Search

Tutorial on How to Search Online Catalog

 

Sample book search

1. At the Advanced Search box, enter  slave*, Limit to Subject

2. Under Location > Moore Stacks (shelves)

3. Use the book call number to find books on the shelves.