Skip to main content

Student Employment at Moore Library

Library Student Assistant Job Descriptions

JOB TITLE:  LIBRARY ASSISTANT – ARCHIVES / RIDERANA 

WAGE/SALARY:  Pay Level IV/$10.35       

SCHEDULE: Monday-Friday/approx.12 hours per week (flexible)

LOCATION: Lawrenceville

ON/OFF CAMPUS: On-Campus

QUALIFICATIONS:  Good research and writing skills. Experience with various computer software packages. Handwriting must be legible with attention to details. Must meet required attendance and punctuality standards.      

JOB DESCRIPTION:  Photocopies/scans material. Does research and develops indexes of materials relating to the history of Rider University, as assigned by the University Archivist. Helps maintain records of materials in Riderana, access newly acquired materials, and organize existing collections. Participate in basic preservation activity. Work independently. Other duties as assigned.  

JOB TITLE:  CATALOGING ASSISTANT – Cataloging

WAGE/SALARY:  Pay Level II/$9.25      

SCHEDULE: Monday-Friday/approx.12 hours per week (flexible- students generally scheduled between 8a-4p)

LOCATION: Lawrenceville

ON/OFF CAMPUS: On-Campus

QUALIFICATIONS: Attention to detail.Knowledge of Library of Congress (LC) Classification or successfully complete and pass the LC Easy program. Handwriting must be legible with attention to detail. Must meet required attendance and punctuality standards.                                   

JOB DESCRIPTION:  Process new books by placing on book plates, covers, strips, and spine labels. Take older books and replace same. Place finished cart of books in LC order before taking down to Circulation Desk. Other duties as assigned.                              

JOB TITLE:  CIRCULATION DESK ASSISTANT – Circulation Desk

WAGE/SALARY:  Pay Level III/$10.00       

SCHEDULE: Monday-Sunday/6 hours minimum, 20 hours maximum (students are scheduled generally between 3p-11p Monday-Thursday, 2p-6p Friday, 10a-5p Saturday, and 3p-10p on Sunday)

LOCATION: Lawrenceville

ON/OFF CAMPUS: On-Campus

QUALIFICATIONS:  Knowledge of Library of Congress (LC) Classification or successfully complete the LC Easy program with a passing grade of 90 or better. Experience navigating library website and electronic catalog. Experience with Windows and Microsoft Office. Handwriting must be legible with attention to detail. Must meet required attendance and punctuality standards.

JOB DESCRIPTION:  Check in/out library materials, shelf-read and shelve books, journals and microfilm. Answer patron inquiries both in-person and phone. Check in/out study rooms. Check in/out course reserves as reserve equipment (if applicable). Check in/out library laptops. When Help Desk student or librarian not available, assist patrons with library catalog, printers, ScanPro microfilm/fiche machine, and scanners. If Help Desk student absent, replenish paper and toner in all printers, remove paper jams, record toner usage on clipboard, keep supply room neat. Walk through 2nd and 3rd floors: collect books, throw away garbage, check study rooms. Report any problems to supervisor and/or staff. Relieve staff during breaks and meals. Help with opening and closing of building. Provide excellent customer service while maintaining library policies and procedures. Assist staff, administrators, and librarians with projects as needed.

JOB TITLE:  HELP DESK ASSISTANT – Help Desk

WAGE/SALARY:  Pay Level II/$9.25     

SCHEDULE: Monday-Sunday/6 hours minimum, 20 hours maximum (students are scheduled all hours the library is open)

LOCATION: Lawrenceville

ON/OFF CAMPUS: On-Campus

QUALIFICATIONS:  Knowledge of Library of Congress (LC) Classification or successfully complete the LC Easy program with a passing grade of 90 or better. Experience navigating library website and electronic catalog. Experience with Windows and Microsoft Office. Handwriting must be legible with attention to detail. Must meet required attendance and punctuality standards.

JOB DESCRIPTION:  Answer general questions. Assist patrons with use of library catalog, printers, scanners, microfilm/fiche ScanPro machine, and computers. Must have a full understanding of catalog holding records and help patrons physically locate books, journals, newspapers and microfilm/fiche. Replenish paper and toner in all printers. Record toner usage on clipboard and keep supply room neat. Replenish copy paper on wooden cart located at circulation desk. Responsible for making sure all printers have paper in them before the end of the work shift. Must be able to find and remove any paper jams in printers. Keep reference and Lab areas neat by re-shelving periodicals, reference books, pushing in chairs and picking up garbage. Periodically walk around and push in chairs on 2nd and 3rd floors. Check all study rooms to ensure they are locked. Report any problems to supervisor and/or staff. Assist staff, administrators, and librarians with projects as needed.                                                               

JOB TITLE:  INTERLIBRARY LOAN ASSISTANT – Interlibrary Loan

WAGE/SALARY:  Pay Level III/$10.00     

SCHEDULE: Monday-Friday/6 hours minimum, 20 hours maximum (flexible- students generally scheduled between 8a-4p)

LOCATION: Lawrenceville

ON/OFF CAMPUS: On-Campus

QUALIFICATIONS:  Knowledge of Library of Congress (LC) Classification or successfully complete the LC Easy program with a passing grade of 90 or better. Experience navigating library website and electronic catalog. Experience with Windows and Microsoft Office. Handwriting must be legible with attention to detail. Must meet required attendance and punctuality standards.

JOB DESCRIPTION:  Process incoming pending request for both OCLC and Jersey Cat using library catalog system for call numbers and periodical titles. Retrieve books and journals from the stacks and periodical room. Make photocopies of journal request and/or microfilm and then ship via U.S. Mail, or courier service, or scanner system. Process borrowed materials from other libraries and maintain files for both OCLC and Jersey Cat. Other duties as assigned.

JOB TITLE:  LIBRARIAN AIDE – FACULTY

WAGE/SALARY:  Pay Level IV/$10.35       

SCHEDULE: Monday-Friday/schedule and hours to be determined by faculty librarian (may include occasional evening or weekend)

LOCATION: Lawrenceville

ON/OFF CAMPUS: On-Campus

QUALIFICATIONS:  Good computer skills.  Excel skills. Accuracy and attention to detail very important. Must be able to work independently. Handwriting must be legible with attention to detail. Must meet required attendance and punctuality standards.

 JOB DESCRIPTION:  Job duties may vary depending on specific needs of the librarian. Students hired in these roles may be assisting with library marketing projects, programming, database entry for patron information, and other special projects. Students will work under minimal supervision after training. Work directly with librarian. Other duties as assigned.

JOB TITLE:  LIBRARY ASSISTANT – ARCHIVES / RIDERANA 

WAGE/SALARY:  Pay Level IV/$10.35       

SCHEDULE: Monday-Friday/approx.12 hours per week (flexible)

LOCATION: Lawrenceville

ON/OFF CAMPUS: On-Campus

QUALIFICATIONS:  Good research and writing skills. Experience with various computer software packages. Handwriting must be legible with attention to details. Must meet required attendance and punctuality standards.      

JOB DESCRIPTION:  Photocopies/scans material. Does research and develops indexes of materials relating to the history of Rider University, as assigned by the University Archivist. Helps maintain records of materials in Riderana, access newly acquired materials, and organize existing collections. Participate in basic preservation activity. Work independently. Other duties as assigned.   

JOB TITLE:  LIBRARY TECHNICAL ASSISTANT – Systems Manager

WAGE/SALARY:  Pay Level III/$10.00       

SCHEDULE: Monday-Thursday/ Students are scheduled between 8a-8p. Schedule firm.

LOCATION: Lawrenceville

ON/OFF CAMPUS: On-Campus

QUALIFICATIONS:  Experience with Windows, Microsoft Office, E-mail, and other internet software. Experience using the Library’s databases navigating the Library Website and online catalog. Handwriting must be legible with attention to detail. Must meet required attendance and punctuality standards.

JOB DESCRIPTION:  Oversee the E-Classroom/Computer Lab. Responsible for assisting patrons with use of the computers. Assist librarians and other instructors when teaching. Keep LAB and LAN printers filled with copy paper. Must be able to find and remove any jams in printers. Other duties as assigned.              

 

Apply on Handshake!

Most available library jobs will be advertised on the University's career platform, Handshake. You will be able to view all library jobs that are currently available. Please note that in order to be considered for any library job, you must submit an application. Students will be able to create an application through handshake and apply for jobs that interest them. Be sure you read the job description before applying for a job as the requirements vary.

Other reasons Handshake is useful?

      

Rider University will host their annual part-time job fair on Thursday, September 13 from 11:30a-1p. Come see us!