Skip to main content

Criminal Justice

Locate

Next, find information about your topic.  

 

The links in the tabs connect you to articles and newspapers, books, websites, videos, government documents and statistics. 

Also look for additional links that pertain directly to your class section.

Depending on what you find, you might need to revise your topic or search strategy. 

 

If you are having trouble finding information on your topic, always feel free to ask a librarian!

 

  • When do you need for your research: books, magazine, journals or newspapers? Check out this research guide The Best Source Types.
  • Differences between journals and magazines - short video
  • What is the difference between popular magazines, trade journals and scholarly (also called academic or peer-reviewed) journals?  Check out the table below.

    Different Types of Periodicals

    Popular Trade Scholarly
    Color covers Plain cover, plain paper (most often)
    Glossy papers Glossy papers (Science journals may be glossy)
    Ads Ads No ads
    Articles on current events Articles on industry trends Primary research, theories, methodologies
    General interest Written for members of specific industry Written for researchers & professionals
    Short articles Short articles Lengthy, in-depth articles
    Informal tone Informal tone Formal and serious tone
    Easy to read vocabularies Professional jargons, more difficult to read
    Written by general staff Written by staff or experts in the field Written by experts in the field & researchers
    Reviewed by general editor Peer review* by subject experts
    No bibliographies or footnotes Short or no bibliographies Extensive bibliographies & references
    Usually called a "magazine" Referred to as a "journal"; may have "journal" in its name

    "Peer reviewed" means that the article has gone through a vetting or review process.  That is, experts in the same field as the author of the article have evaluated the author's scholarship and made sure that his or her methods, research, theories, and conclusions are sound and backed up by other scholarship or research. Often, a double-blind peer-review process is used, where the author and reviewers are unknown to each other, to ensure that personal bias does not affect the evaluation of scholarship.

    Journals may be scholarly or academic without necessarily being peer-reviewed.  In this case, a editor in the discipline or an editorial board makes the decision to publish another expert's work. Ask your professor whether or not your article needs to be peer-reviewed in addition to being scholarly.

Capitalize your connectors AND/OR

1. Phrase Search-keep a phrase together so it will not get separated and lose intended meaning

Example

"yellowstone park"

"sandy hook"

2. Truncations  - to search words of various endings

 Example

comput* -computer, computers, computerize computerized, computerinzing, computational, computation

wom?n - woman or women

girl*-girl, girls, girlish

3. Boolean Operators - use AND/ OR/ NOT to connect your keywords - Boolean Machine.

 Example- AND

california AND parks

"yellowstone park" AND "wild life"

Example- OR

women OR girl* OR female*

research OR survey or case stud*

Example- NOT (AND NOT)

yellowstone NOT park

clinton AND NOT hillary

4. Use parenthesis and quotation marks for logical execution of search terms

"sex* harrassment" AND ("work place" OR office)

Sample Library One Search: Find articles on "race and crime on drugs"

  1. Limit by Subject or Abstract field
  2. Limits to Online Access & In Library to access Full Text of searched articles and ebooks
  3. Limit to Peer Reviewed
  4. Limit Publication dates to more current years articles 
  5. Periodicals means popular magazine, Academic Journal is peer reviewed journal
  6. You may view databases to target on relevant subject databases

 

sample Topic: Relations of race crime and drugs. 

One Search race drug crime
One search limit by source types, subject and databases

Sample topic: Find library's books on "discriminate gays in the workplace"         

Library Catalog     ( Tutorial on How to Search Online Catalog )

                  Advanced Search

Search library catalog


 

 catalog 3

Federal Depository Library logo

The Moore Library is a Federal Depository Library. The Library selects federal documents offered by the Government Printing Office (GPO) and provides free access of these documents to the Rider University community and the general public.

 

 

Major Search Tools:

 

General Search Tools:

Nexis Uni is a comprehensive database including U.S. and International news, business, and legal research.

Nexis Uni Research Guide  for newspaper articles

Nexis Uni video tutorials