Skip to main content

ENG-228 (Peters_Spring 2020)

Black American Literature

Finding & Searching Library Resources

Names of databases are listed alphabetically or grouped by subject (library home page: https://guides.rider.edu/home).  There are 19 databases listed under the subject for English.

 

A to Z Databases for English Related Subjects

Search for Books or More in the Toolbar of the Library Home page OR the online catalog:

Searching catalog for African American videos with African American in keyword search box and culture in second keyword search box; format of resource changed to videodisc

Some examples of films on Black American culture:

Beloved

The Autobiography of Miss Jane Pittman

Go Tell It on the Mountain

The Sky is Gray

Blacking up: hip-hop's remix of race and identity

Find (almost) all of the library's materials in one place: articlesbooksvideo and audio materials, and more!

Library One Search cross-searches the library catalog and most of our databases.

More Authoritative than Google.

Google searches return the good, the bad, and the ugly.

Using the new Library One Search box gives you the simplicity of the Google Box with the authority of results chosen for academic libraries.

Books, articles, music, video, and more!

Use this tool to find articlesbooksvideo and audio materials, and more. A wide variety of full text materials is included, as well as location information for hard copy materials in the Rider University Libraries.

From your intitial search results, use the left hand navigation bar to narrowrefine, and customize your search.

For example, limit to Rider University Libraries Catalog to find books, DVDs, government documents, and more in the library catalog.

Found the perfect article but there is no link to the full text? We might have access through another database. 

OR

If you have a citation for a journal article you want to get, use the Journals link to see if the Libraries own or have access to the print or electronic versions of the journal title. Here's how to check.The example below is to find full text articles in the New York Times newspaper. From the RU Library home page, click the link to Journals.

picture of library home page with a black circle around the word, Journals

Type the name of the newspaper name in search box to see if it is available in one of our databases or in Moore Library:

Search box with word, New York Times with result of search finding the newspaper in Nexis and Proquest databases.

Mercer County Library

Rider students and faculty may sign up for a library card with their Rider ID and another photo ID such as a drivers license.

The College of New Jersey Library

Rider students can use their Rider ID to take books out of this library.

VALE Reciprocal Borrowing Program - is an agreement among participating VALE member colleges and universities. Through this program, Rider faculty may borrow books from many area academic libraries, including Rutgers University.

Check your home libraries too!

WorldCat is a worldwide catalog of libraries and searching for a video may show what library near you may have it.

If you have membership to the following companies, you maybe able to view videos for free!

Amazon Prime videos

Netflix

IMDb for ratings and reviews of movies