Skip to main content

VC726

Voice Science - Library Resources

Vocal Health / Voice Disorders

Books and eBooks

Rider University Libraries catalog

Call numbers/classifications MT820+: Physiology and Care of the Voice, Voice Pedagogy

Helpful LC Subject Headings: 

Singing -- Instruction and study.

Singing -- Physiological aspects.

Voice -- Care and hygiene.

Voice Disorders.

Vocal pedagogy.

Working with eBooks - Rider University subscribes to a large selection of eBooks. This is documentation on downloading books, reading them online, and setting up the mobile app for eBooks.

Interlibrary Loan - Request materials from other libraries, which RUL does not own. 

 

Select Science, Mathematics, Health Sciences​ databases

CINAHL Complete - comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals.

General Science Full Text - provides full text from more than 100 periodicals dating as far back as 1995, in addition to indexing and abstracts for nearly 300 periodicals dating back to 1984.

MEDLINE - provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.

ScienceDirect - contains the contents for the Journal of Voice. No longer available in print at Talbott Library, so you must access this title through ScienceDirect.

Journal of Singing - available online from 2004- present. Search the library catalog for access. Back issues in BOUND PERIODICALS (shelved by title).

Internet Sources
 

Timeline of Historical Voice Pedagogy - An overview of the history of voice teaching and training, from the 1200s to the present.

Open Access Theses and Dissertations - Advanced international research and scholarship . Free to find, free to use.

Proquest Dissertations and Theses (Open Access) - search and read open access contents free of charge (U.S. colleges and universities only)

Vocal Pedagogy Resources from Jim Daugherty (U. Kansas)

VoiceTalk: Historical Perspectives in the Art of Singing - Historical vocal pedagogy texts in the public domain, from a variety of sources and formats (Google books, IMLSP, etc.).

Google Scholar - search "historical voice pedagogy"

Centers and Organizations

 

National Center for Voice and Speech - Some books are available for free download.

The Voice Foundationleading organization dedicated to voice research, medicine, science, and education.

Voice Research Laboratory - [The] "website for the Voice Research Lab in McMaster University's Department of Psychology, Neuroscience, and Behaviour. The Voice Research Laboratory is committed to discovering how we use voices and faces to perceive the world." It contains a possibly useful bibliography.