You can email me at rterrio@rider.edu, anytime; call 609-921-7100 x8296 M-Th 9-4 pm.
If you are in the area, and want to meet in person, we can set up a time from Tuesday, January 9 on.
Session 1
Remember: The database does not recognize capital letters or initial articles in any language. If an article is nested within a title, include it.
Boolean operators (named after George Boole) are incorporated into database searches to broaden or narrow your set of search results. The three operators are:
AND - tells the database all elements you are searching for must be present (music AND pedagogy will have both words in all search results). NOTE: This operator is implied in many databases, including ENCORE, the library catalog at Rider University, so it is not necessary to add.
OR - joins two or more similar concepts (try to think about two or three different concepts when constructing a search (music AND pedagogy OR teaching OR instruction, where music AND one OR all of these additional words may appear in your results).
NOT - narrows a search by excluding word and concepts (music AND pedagogy NOT freire would omit freire in the results list).
In Encore's advanced search mode, you can click on a radio button to enable the boolean operators.
Using Encore's login feature enables you to create customized lists for all phases of your research, Including ILL.
You will log in with your last name and your Bronc ID.
OneSearch (EDS, or Ebsco Discovery Service) cross-searches all of the library's resources, including books, scores, audio materials, videos, journal articles, and electronic resources. There will be much more material with which to deal, when executing query using OneSearch.
Session 2
The C.R.A.P. (Currency, Reliability, Authority, Purpose/Point of view) test – a rubric intended to evaluate the quality of a website:
https://libraries.mercer.edu/research-tools-help/citation-tools-help/images/PrintableCRAPtest.pdf
http://media.easybib.com/ebook/mla_websiteeval.pdf
Is it a parody? The Onion, the Borowitz Report? https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_satirical_news_websites
Education Full Text
ERIC (U.S. Department of Education's Educational Resource Information Center)
National Center for Education Statistics - http://nces.ed.gov/
Informaworld
SEARCH: “critical pedagogy music education student teacher relationship” and LIMIT to access only content to which we subscribe.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
Teacher Reference Center in Jerseyclicks
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for hundreds of periodicals. In addition, 96% of journals indexed in TRC are peer-reviewed.
Topics include: Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.
Oxford Handbooks Online
Incorporates the 2 v. Handbook of Music Education, Music and Disability Studies, Philosophy in Music Education, Qualitative Research in American Music Education, Social Justice in Music Education,
Worldcat
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat libraries are dedicated to providing access to their resources on the Web, where most people start their search for information.
WorldCat libraries are dedicated to providing access to their resources on the Web, where most people start their search for information.
