THE 224 Stage Makeup
This guide will serve as a resource and inspiration as you gather images to use in your Stage Makeup class. Please contact us with any questions.
Useful research guides
Fine & Performing Arts
The University Library at Rider University
Find Images
-
JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new windowGo to Advanced Search
Type in your search terms
Select caption in the pull down box to the right of the search box
Click Search
AuthorsJ Michael Gillette
Print Book©20137th ed.
New York, NY : McGraw-Hill, ©2013.
PN2085 .G5 2013
How To Apply Age Makeup
AuthorsJoanne ColemanDigital Theatre+(Production company)
eVideo2023
[Place of publication not identified] : Digital Theatre+, 2022
Special makeup effects for stage and screen : making and applying prosthetics
AuthorsTodd Debreceni
Print Book20132nd ed.
Burlington, Mass. : Focal Press, 2013.
PN2068 .D43 2013
The makeup artist handbook : techniques for film, television, photography, and theatre
AuthorsGretchen DavisMindy Hall
Print Book20122nd ed.
Waltham, MA : Focal Press, 2012.
PN2068 .D38 2012
Some databases allow you to search by Caption. Your results will be a list of articles or book chapters that have images in them with your search terms in the captions. Open the PDFs to find the images.
-
JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new windowTo search by caption, go to the advanced search page. Choose the pull down for caption as pictured below.
-
Calisphere Calisphere is the University of California's free public gateway to a world of primary sources. More than 150,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts — reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history.
-
Creative Commons searchsearch multiple collections at once
-
Open CultureScroll down to the heading "Free Art & Images" for a list of different cultural institutions and topics.
-
Ad*Access - Duke University LibrariesThe Ad*Access presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in the U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.
-
The Emergence of Advertising in America, 1850 - 1920Presents over 9,000 images, with database information, relating to the early history of advertising in the United States.
-
John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising, and Marketing HistoryA part of the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special collections Library of Duke University, the Hartman Center is one of the nation's preeminent programs for the study of sales, advertising, and marketing.