Skip to main content

CMP-125 (Peters, Spring 2020)

Research writing

Locate Information

Locate the needed information through searching and extracting the relevant information.

 

If you are having trouble finding information on your topic, always feel free to ask a librarian!

  • When do you need for your research: books, magazine, journals or newspapers? Check out this research guide The Best Source Types.
  • How do you know if an article is scholarly?  Watch the short video.

 

"Peer reviewed" means that the article has gone through a vetting or review process.  That is, experts in the same field as the author of the article have evaluated the author's scholarship and made sure that his or her methods, research, theories, and conclusions are sound and backed up by other scholarship or research. Often, a double-blind peer-review process is used, where the author and reviewers are unknown to each other, to ensure that personal bias does not affect the evaluation of scholarship.

Journals may be scholarly or academic without necessarily being peer-reviewed.  In this case, a editor in the discipline or an editorial board makes the decision to publish another expert's work. Ask your professor whether or not your article needs to be peer-reviewed in addition to being scholarly.

Source Types

Characteristics

Used for

Disadvantages

Scholarly Journals

(also called "academic journals")

·   Articles reviewed by experts in the field.

·   Contain original research and new discoveries; cover one or a few experiments.

·   Written for and by professionals in the particular field.

·   Long (10+ page) articles with sections such as abstract, literature review, methodology, results, conclusion

·   Use language specific to the field.

·   Provide authors’ name and usually the credentials.

·   Include bibliographies of sources consulted at the end of articles.

·   Most illustrations are technical and used to explain a point in the article.

 

·   Reliable and valid scholarly content.

·   Updates on new discoveries and studies on a broad subjects.

·   In-depth analysis on the specific topics of a subject.  

·   References for relevant resources on your topic.

 

·   Limited coverage without much historical overview on a subject.

·   Uses the jargon and specialized vocabulary of the profession.

 

 

 

From the Rider University Libraries' home page, click the button labelled Libraries Website, then the box, Databases & Indexes.  From here you can browse databases by SUBJECT or ALPHABETICALLY.

The following are selected databases that might be helpful in your research. There may be more; check the links above. The Subject/Approach column has highlighted items that are most relevant for searching information about authors.

For the  SUBJECT/APPROACH:

 CONSULT THE DATABASE:

INTERDISCIPLINARY

Academic Search Premier

OmniFile Full Text Mega (includes Humanities FT, Social Sciences FT and others)

CQ Researcher

Points of View Reference Center

JSTOR

Project MUSE

BUSINESS

ABI/INFORM Complete

Business Source Premier

COMMUNICATION

Communication & Mass Media Complete

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text

EDUCATION

Education Full Text

ERIC

GENDER

GenderWatch

HISTORY

America: History and Life (U.S./Canada)

Historical Abstracts (non-U.S.)

Humanties Full Text

LEGAL

Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis Nexis Academic)

LITERATURE

MLA International Bibliography

Humanities Full Text

Literary Reference Center

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text

Literature Criticism Online

Dictionary of Literary Biography Online

NEWSPAPERS

Access World News

Nexis Uni (NY Times)

ABI/INFORM Complete (Wall Street Journal)

PERFORMING ARTS

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text

POLITICAL SCIENCE

Social Sciences Full Text

PSYCHOLOGY

PsycINFO

PsycARTICLES

PHILOSOPHY/RELIGION

Humanities Full Text

SCIENCES

GreenFILE

General Science Full Text

Medline

PubMed

Science Direct

SOCIAL SCIENCES

Social Sciences Full Text

Who Sample Who Website

"Dig deeper into music by discovering direct connections among over 572,000 songs and 192,000 artists, from Hip-Hop, Rap and R&B via Electronic / Dance through to Rock, Pop, Soul, Funk, Reggae, Jazz, Classical and beyond."

Library One Search cross-searches most of the library's resources, including books, scores, audios, videos, journal articles, electronic resources, and more.

You can find it on the library website - it's our default search box!

Too many hits?

  • Limit the "Content Provider" option to specific databases.
  • Use the other limits (date, subject) on the left side bar.
  • Limit to "Rider University Libraries Catalog" to find books, DVDs, and government documents in our catalog.

 

These databases are currently NOT YET AVAILABLE for searching via Library One Search.

You will need to search them individually.

 

A search for Alex Haley in Modern Language's International Bibliography Database:

And checked Library Catalog to see if RU Libraries has book:

Found the perfect article but there is no link to the full text? We might have access through another database. 

OR

If you have a citation for a journal article you want to get, use the Journals link to see if the Libraries own or have access to the print or electronic versions of the journal title. Here's how to check.The example below is to find full text articles in the New York Times newspaper. From the RU Library home page, click the link to Journals.

picture of library home page with a black circle around the word, Journals

Type the name of the newspaper name in search box to see if it is available in one of our databases or in Moore Library:

Search box with word, New York Times with result of search finding the newspaper in Nexis and Proquest databases.