Part V: Paper Requirements: Expanded Explanation
1. Paper Length: 5-7 Typed and Double-Spaced Pages with a font size of l0 or above
2. Works Cited Page will comprise a separate page from the 5-7 pages comprising the text of your essay.
3. Annotated Bibliography will comprise a separate page from the 5-7 pages comprising the text of your essay.
4. Required Research/Reference Sources:
a. Seven (7) reference sources must be used to document the paper and to support your argument as to whether or not the person you’re discussing is or is not a plagiarist.
b. Your seven reference sources can be collected from any one of the following: books, articles from scholarly journals, journalistic stories from newspapers, news magazines, personal interviews, films, etc.
c. In-text Citations: Seven (7) in-text citations must be included in the text of the essay and six corresponding full-text reference citations, drawn from the six in-text citations, must appear in your Works Cited Page and Annotated Bibliography.
d. Works Cited Page: Full-text reference citations for all seven sources used in the essay must be cited in a separate Works Cited Page which must appear at the end of the paper.
e. Annotated Bibliography: Full-text reference citations and accompanying annotations or summaries must be cited in a separate Annotated Bibliography Page for your seven sources.
ASSIGNMENTS of Plagiarists:
Student's Name and Plagiarists to Be Researched
(check to see how much information you can find on each person assigned to you. Choose any TWO from your list that will provide you with sufficient information to form a seven page documented essay.
1. Jasmine: Monica Crowley and Sheriff David Clark
2. Joy: Joe Biden and Ruth Kaavya Viswanathan
3. Daria: Jane Goodall and Richard Owen (biologist), George Washington Carver
(Physicist/Philadelphia), Vladimiri Putin, Ben Carson, John WalshPearl S. Buck
4. Maddie: Doris Kearns Goodwin and Stephen Glass, Pearl S. Buck
5. MO: Ben Carson, Chris/Christopher Spence (Canada/Toronto School Board Sup.) and Ling Zhang (Chinese/Canadian),
6. Tim: John Walsh, Nella Larsen and Vice President Joseph Biden, and Nada Behziz
7. Shyan: Rand Paul, Dr. Martin L. King and Chief Rabbi Gilles Bernhiem of France (See New York Times, April 10, 2013, p. A3--article by Steve Erlanger)
8. Nicole: Stephan Glass, Freed Zakaria, and Matthew Whitaker (Arizona State Senator)
9. Corolo: Jayson Blair and Janet Cooke
10. Brooke: Nella Larsen. J.K. Rowling, Melania Trump and Michele O'Bama
11. Jonathan, Jeff Kooms, Jill Abramson (Merchants of Truth), and Patricia Smith (Boston Globe)
12. Shayne, Juan Williams, Patricia Smith (Boston Globe), Melina Trump and Michelle O'Bama
13. Karl: Stephen Ambrose, Lloyd Brown (Florida Times Union), Dan Brown (Da Vinci Code),
14. Joseph: Emma Cline, Milton Berle, Nick Simmons (Radical Comics)
15: Jaeden: Rev. Bill Shillady, Alex Haley and Pearl Buck
16. Maria: Donald Glover (Childish Gambino/This is America),
17. Viv Robin Thickle/Pharrel Williams, "Blurred Lines" and Marvin Gaye and E.L. James (Shades of Gray)
18. Ella: Nick Simmons (Incarnate), Lloyd Brown (Florida Times Union) and/or: George Harrison, Johnny Cash and the Beach Boys (Copy righ
****************************************************************
Miscellaneous/Surplus: Optional Secondary Selections
If you want to choose someone else to research --other than the persons that you were originally assigned --check with me for permission to change and select someone else. Make sure you have a valid and convincing reason for the change:
Optional Choice selections are listed below:
Donald Trump, William Lauder, Quentin Rowan,
James A. MacKay, Annete Schavan
George Harrison, Johnny Cash and the Beach Boys (Copyright infringement in music)
NIkki Minaj (Starship), Justin Bieber,
Ben Domenech, Maureen Dodd
Blair Hornstine, Jane Goodall, Nada Behiz
Timberland Loose”) Led Zeppelin (“Dazed and Confused”) (copyright infringement in music)
Nada Behiz, Michael Osker Persuad, Helen Keller, Maureen Dowd, Alex Haley, Harold Courlander, Margaret Walker,
Nick Simmons (Radical Comics)
Isabelle Beeton
Milton Berle
Emma: Quentin Rowan, or Blair Hornstine
Monica Crawley Senator John Walsh
Dr. Ben Carson or former President Obama, Joe Biden
Doris Kearns Goodwin and or Melania Trump
Nada Behziz, Maureen Dowd, or
Ben Domenech, Dr. Richard Owens
Identify an information problem by activating an interest, scanning the environment, and focusing on a question
As you identify relevant keywords related to your topic, it may be helpful to find some background information to gain a good overview and better understanding of the context of your topic.
Conducting some brief background research can help you in finding additional terminology related to your topic, as well as specific events, dates, and names related to your topic.
Some online reference resources to try:
"...access to 600+ encyclopedias, handbooks, guides and dictionaries. These reference works cover a wide swath of topics including, science and medicine, etc.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
"A collection of encyclopedias and other reference sources which covers a variety of topics..."
Search Tips
1. Phrase Search-keep a phrase together so it will not get separated and lose intended meaning
2. Truncation - shorten a word and use wild card (*, ?) to search words of various endings
Example
plagiar* - plagiarism, plagiarize, plagiarizing, plagiarizes
wom?n - woman or women
3. Boolean Operators - use AND/ OR/ NOT to connect your keywords - Boolean Machine.
Capitalize your connectors AND/OR
Example-AND
Haley AND plagiarism (fewer hits because both ideas have to be in articles)
Example-OR
plagiarism OR stealing OR piracy OR theft OR cribbing (more hits because any of these or a combination of these words can be in articles)
4. Use parenthesis and quotation marks for logical execution of search terms
Haley AND (plagiarism OR stealing OR piracy OR theft OR cribbing)
